We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torbay Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Torbay Court Hotel to your Saves list
Torbay Court Hotel
Steartfield Road, Paignton TQ3 2BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend at this Hotel booked through GB Tours. Although the Hotel is somewhat dated we found that the bar and waiting staff were really pleasant and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The room was not fancy but was adequate; very clean,very warm and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities replenished daily.The food was delicious and a good choice was available. The entertainment, in particular Ron Cody and Sean Aldridge, was excellent and we enjoyed it tremendously. The group on our coach trip were mostly elderly over 60 years of age and everyone we spoke to agreed that they had excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    34
    27
    23
See reviews for
17
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Oh dear! We arrived at this horrendous place and were grunted at by the reception staff,very very rude!

The rooms looked like something from the 70's,green bathroom suite etc! The shower could not be used as it soaked the whole bathroom!

The music/acts go on until 11pm and massively loud,no sleep!

The radiator could not be turned off as the valve was broken.

We didn't even have breakfast,it's served from 8-830,really handy when you have work at 8am!

I honestly haven't a good word to say about this place,avoid it at all costs

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

First impressions of the hotel was the parking (there wasn't any) so we ended up parking in whatever place we could and tried to keep a sort of access route for other cars to drive through. After we received our keys to room 9 we found ourselves in the section of the hotel that was being re-furbished - literally as we stepped over coving and paint tins to get to our room. We were the only couple that was staying in that section of the hotel and our room had been refurbished we thought ok lets enjoy the weekend. We both had a peek at the opposite bedrooms and they were being completly re-decorated in amongst the dust and scrapped off wallpaper. My wife told me that early saturday morning (3.30am) there was a lot of noise and sounds coming from outside our room. I must admit due to the journey down and a little drink I did sleep soundly. However on the Sunday morning my wife and I was awoken by noise, lots of walking about scrapping noises, sweeping of brushes and moving of furniture. We were too afraid to venture out just case in could have been burglars so we stayed put and this went on from 3.30am till 5.30am. When we went for an early breakfast on the Sunday morning the oppostite bedroom door was open and there was clear evidence of newly painted skirting (in amongst the dust and wallpaper) and the windows open wide to get rid of the horrible smell of new paint! There was no manager available early on Sunday morning so I phoned in the week to be told by the manager that the porter paints in the early hours of the morning but that is all he does and he wouldn't have been sanding down skirting and scrapping wallpaper off walls. I was told that I should have told someone on the Sunday morning so that they could have done something about it - we were leaving that day! There was a sort of apology - but that was after a long discussion.
Lesson in Hotel management:
1. Listen to the customer - they pay you wages.
2. Don't put customers in an area of the hotel that your are renovating at 3.30am till 5.30am
3. If they are the only rooms available have the common sense to tell the Porter that room 9 is occupied and we are not completely deaf and would like some sleep during the night
4. Courtesy and common sense would say that we deserve some compensation for the lack of sleep.
Hopefully, they will have compeletd all rooms at the hotel; and not put the customers through such an ordeal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel on a dancing holiday in a group. The room was okay, but a bit cold - some friends were complaining their room was stifling and they couldn't open the window!
Our room was on the ground floor, bit tatty, but that doesn't bother me so long as it is clean, and it was. But noises from other rooms, nearby or above, of water, toilets flushing or showers I don't know, but very loud. The evening meal on the first day was diabolical. A choice of three things for the main course - plaice, chicken breast or some sort of salad. Not being a lover of salad on a cold winter evening my choice was between two things I don't much like. I decided on the chicken. It was dry, served with dry plain boiled potatoes, carrots and peas. A mustard sauce if you asked for it. What I would have liked was gravy - something to add some moisture! Breakfast the first morning, I chose a full English but without the fried bread, and my egg scrambled. It arrived, with fried bread, and the scrambled egg had obviously been lying about for a while as it was almost stone cold. The bacon, one thin rasher, was also cold. The sausage was the only hot part. The second evening meal was an improvements, with a choice of braised beef, or cod in arsley sauce. I chose the fish which was very nice. The vegetable were less dry too. But the soup, supposedly tomato, was thick and seemed to be yesterdays vegeable soup with a tin of tomato puree added. I couldn't eat it. Breakfast of the second day, I had learned my lesson, and chose poached egg which had to be freshly cooked and hot. The dining room itself was big with lots of tables. But our group of 42 people were squashed together on 5 long tables, where the waiters had to squeeze behind people or lean across them with plates and dishes, while the rest of the room and at least a dozen more tables were empty! As we were on a dancing weekend the ballroom was obviously an important feature. This was a lovely big floor, no complaints about that, but it would have been better if all the chairs had not been arranged singly all round the edge, reminiscent of many years ago in village halls. There were tiny tables arranged along the edge in between the chairs, so most of us moved the chairs around these little tables so we could talk in groups rather than sit silently along in a row!
Our dance group leaders will not choose this venue again, and we certainly will not come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

just come back from,this excellent hotel.
may not be posh,but the rooms,was very clean,warm.
the food was so good and the staff was excellent throught our stay,nothing was to much trouble for them.
they was all so friendly,and enjoyable to meet,would be happy to stay there again if i ham in paigton again.
thanks to to staff for a very enjoyable new year.
mike p

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our coach operator used this hotel in November 2012.
We had a very pleasant stay and the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Some rooms had been refurbished but ours was not one of them. Our room was comfortable but small; the tea tray was adequate; the heating was excellent and the bathroom comfortable with a good shower and plenty of hot water; the television was very old and the reception was 'snowy'. Breakfast and dinner, both of average but acceptable quality were served in a pleasant refurbished dining room and served by friendly staff. Both the dining room and lounge/function room had been refurbished to a nice standard.
I think that this hotel will offer very good value and be a great place to stay when both the interior and exterior are completely refurbished.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room; there is a refurbishment policy in operation and the rooms are being upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here on a GB Coach Holiday - Monday to Friday. The hotel is situated in a small cul-de-sac about three minutes walk to the seafront and five minutes walk to the town along a path beside the railway.

The hotel has been taken over a few months ago and is being refurbished. The maintenance man Colin took us on a behind the scenes tour to see the rooms being refurbished and they look top class. "Come back next year" he said "and you will be astounded at the results."

The restaurant and entertainment area have been done up and the rooms given a spruce up pending refurbishment. We found our room comfortable and clean although the TV had seen better days (the refurbished rooms have large wall mounted flatscreen Tvs).

The choice of food and the food itself was acceptable but not great. Service was a bit haphazard, quick one day and slow the next but overall acceptable. Entertainment was basic and low key. The staff were wonderful treating guests as guests and not as a nuisance.

Overall, it was great value for what we paid. Would we go back? Certainly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torbay Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torbay Court Hotel

Address: Steartfield Road, Paignton TQ3 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Torbay Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Court Paignton
Torbay Court Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torbay Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.