We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach trip toTorbay Court Hotel Paignton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torbay Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Torbay Court Hotel to your Saves list
Torbay Court Hotel
Steartfield Road, Paignton TQ3 2BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Coach trip toTorbay Court Hotel Paignton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

On checking reviews before coming on a coach trip with Just Go I wondered if I had made a mistake. What do people moan about? Staff were friendly, food was always hot and served quickly, not a huge selection but ok. Room was clean and serviced daily, bed comfortable and heard no noise when in room (37), a little tired in decor but hey! I didn't pay Ritz prices. Barman took my drink to my table as I have problems carrying, remembered next night without asking, all done with a smile. Entertainment each evening, with enough seating to always find a chair, that can't be said everywhere I have been. A nice dance floor for those looking for that. My case taken to and from my room with no problem. Maybe more suitable for mature people, rather than families or teenagers, but from my viewpoint an enjoyable stay. In my humble opinion the bad reviews I read were very misleading. Pam from Swindon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    34
    27
    23
See reviews for
17
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
port talbot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Food was allways cold tea cold. I was waiting by the reception to collect my room key and the manageress just looked at me and she just ignored me prodably because i complained the day before about the noice and i could not sleep in the nights due to a noice coming from the hotel.
Bar staff was the hardest worker in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

As a Coach operator with 15 years experience of Tours/Hotels just beware.Mananger never introduced herself very unsociable and rude should take a leaf out of her staffs book as i felt sorry for them as they do try so hard and are so helpful and pleasant.Food terrible first night main was 2 slices of thin boiled ham(iceland variety) chips and egg would get better from road side cafe.Rooms very dated one of my passengers had a running tap for two days and 2 others had leaking tiolets.Hotel in administration and in my opinion will be better boarded up.I had used this Hotel several times and some of my passengers over a 7 or 8 times but never again.A very good example of a sinking ship not too far from the sea bed!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

arrived here after a very long journey to find that the family was split into 3 rooms even thou our booking said 1 family room,room was ok but bed was uncomfortable,food not much to be desired.location was ok if you like to hear the trains.think we was the youngest staying there,often got the old guy down the corrider moaning about my 3yr old cus she would run up and down,what does he expect its a supposably family hotel.thought it was a cheek for hotel to charge us for a packed lunch on return journey.WILL NOT BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Arrived at 5.10pm, reception closes at 5. Come on. Heavily tattoed and ear-ringed barman greeted me(when he could drag himself away from his mate). Then he wanted money upfront. Incredulous. Even more when he announced they only accept cash or cheque and that I couldn't pay with my debit card. My room was well appointed, but the bed linen had holes in it. One sachet of coffee and one tea bag provided. The water disappeared from my wash basin within seconds despite the fact that the plug was in the sink Regimented breakfast, 8.30 a.m.exactly or you will be shot! Check out by 9.30 a.m., just enough time to run from the breakfast table collect my luggage and rush to reception before being ejected. That's how it felt anyway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Paignton is a good base for Torbay and this hotel was adequate for our needs. Nice room with bath and shower, excellent breakfast and very friendly, efficient staff.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

In Administration, is not something you wish to hear on arriving at a holiday hotel. But thats the situation and it is reflected in the food and restaurant service in the hotel. The rooms are dated, but kept clean by a competant housekeeping staff, towels changed and linen clean. Entertainment is fairly good and on most evenings. However the food is totally abysmal and the menu's seem to be from the 60's holiday camp style. in a seven night stay battered cod and chips on twice, cod in sauce on twice, chicken on twice, vegetables consisted of carrots, peas and cauliflower, total. Can the make a mess of breakfast......Yes your full English is highlighted in a photo. We will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Torbay Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torbay Court Hotel

Address: Steartfield Road, Paignton TQ3 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Torbay Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Court Paignton
Torbay Court Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torbay Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.