We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sands Hotel
32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Newport, South Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is a home from home, we stayed for 4 days from 21 September 2013. Its run by Brian, Lorraine, Jonathan and not forgetting Scobby the Labrador. In one of the best positions with a view right over to Torquay, its worth paying that little extra for the sea view. Plenty of parking available (which is hard to get in Paignton). The breakfast is one of the best we have had, and we having been going down to Paignton for 18 years for weekend breaks. The beds are comfortable, plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits available in your room - and the room and hotel was spotless, very welcoming and friendly, we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thank you for a lovely, restful few days, we will be back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Sands several times, but this is the first time that I had gone on my own. Lorriane Brian and Johnathan looked after me so well, always making sure that I was included and not left on my own. They are so friendly and helpful making you feel like family. The hotel was as always spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast, with so much choice. The hotel is just in the right place for all local amenities. With lots of fun in the cosy, comfortable bar in the evenings. Thank you to all for making my holiday so enjoyable. Can't wait until I go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have not long got back from our second holiday staying with Brian, Lorraine, Jonathan and Scooby and wish we were back there already!! Myself, partner and daughter loved every minute of it, such a lovely friendly place, we highly recommend staying at The Sands Hotel and cant wait to see evryone again next year! Thank you for making our holiday great! Love Shel xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just come back from a weeks holiday at the sands hotel and we wish we were still there everyone is so friendly and nothing was to much trouble it was like home from home the breakfasts were fantastic they really filled you up .The hotel is spotless and very friendly the guests are regulars each year and we had a great time carnt wait to go next year made some great friends would recommend this hotel to everyone xx

Room Tip: we had a downstairs room and it was very very nice no complaints at all .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week the rooms were a good size and very clean and tidy we had a great view of the sea from our room.The Hotel was in a great location close to the Harbour and sea front and only a few minutes walk to the town. Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was excellent and very filling whatever you wanted for breakfast they did for you without a fuss a definate 10/10. We would highly recommend staying at the Sands Hotel, we will definately be going back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Brian Lorraine and Jonathan (and not forgetting Scooby!) Thank-you for playing a big part in our wonderful holiday in Paignton!
Between us we occupied six rooms, all beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, three with spectacular sea views!
The breakfasts were delicious and the service impeccable.
A top quality family run small hotel where you definitely arrive as guests and leave as friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and had a great holiday and booked again for this year. We were told to confirm after Christmas which we did and asked if we were to send a deposit. We were told that we didn't need to asking as we were defiantly going. We said we were and that nothing could stop us but how wrong we were. My wife emailed the hotel in may to ask them something only to get an email back saying they had let our rooms go because we had not paid a deposit. We emailed again explaining we were told we didn't need to but we have not had any reply. Not even an offer of help trying to find a new hotel which at this time of the year looking for two rooms is proving to be impossible so it looks like our summer holiday this year is not going to happen thanks to the sands hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIAN H, Owner at The Sands Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Yes the wife did ring in January we did discuss a deposit and she asked if it would be alright for her husband to send money now and again so they didn't have to pay a large amount when they came for their holiday which I agreed to, no money arrived by May so I let the rooms go. I did offer them alternative dates which they declined, if they had asked me I would have given them the numbers
of several hotels but they did not ask for any. I am sorry they feel let down but we do have a business to run and the reason we take deposits are to secure the rooms. At least they had no bad things to say about their stay with us last year or they would not have wanted to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Address: 32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands ideally located in magnificent position on Paignton Seafront just a few yards from the beach, green and harbour, and only a short level walk to the town centre. Efficently run in a friendly manner. We have gained a reputation in ensuring everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed during their staywith us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sands Hotel to your Saves list