We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sands Hotel
Save
You added The Sands Hotel to your Saves list
32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Travellers beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and had a great holiday and booked again for this year. We were told to confirm after Christmas which we did and asked if we were to send a deposit. We were told that we didn't need to asking as we were defiantly going. We said we were and that nothing could stop us but how wrong we were. My wife emailed the hotel in may to ask them something only to get an email back saying they had let our rooms go because we had not paid a deposit. We emailed again explaining we were told we didn't need to but we have not had any reply. Not even an offer of help trying to find a new hotel which at this time of the year looking for two rooms is proving to be impossible so it looks like our summer holiday this year is not going to happen thanks to the sands hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIAN H, Owner at The Sands Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Yes the wife did ring in January we did discuss a deposit and she asked if it would be alright for her husband to send money now and again so they didn't have to pay a large amount when they came for their holiday which I agreed to, no money arrived by May so I let the rooms go. I did offer them alternative dates which they declined, if they had asked me I would have given them the numbers
of several hotels but they did not ask for any. I am sorry they feel let down but we do have a business to run and the reason we take deposits are to secure the rooms. At least they had no bad things to say about their stay with us last year or they would not have wanted to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cradley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Me and Mom just got back from our annual visit to The Sands in Paignton.
As ever, made to feel so welcome by everyone (including the dog) and we
both had such a relaxing time.
The whole place functions so smoothly there is absolutely no hassle or
stress whatsoever when you stay here.
Had a room with a sea view this time and it was fabulous, can see right
across the bay to Torquay and beyond.
The breakfasts are hot-cooked fresh to order and plentiful too,excellent.
I cannot praise this place enough, I would recommend it to anyone
without hesitation and did I mention its spotlessly clean everywhere.
Finally, the bar on an evening is a lovely place to chill out and relax
with a few drinks in a very relaxed atmosphere having a laugh and a
joke and a quiz or too !
Thanks to ALL the team here for making us feel so welcome, its very
much appreciated by both of us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room-IF you are luckily enough to get one you will enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at the sands for many years and we have been made very welcome by brian, lorraine and jonathan they are very accommodating always ready to please and are very sociable with guests and have a Good variety of choice for breakfast including porridge. The rooms are spotlessly clean and homely. Very close to beach and all amenities can't wait to go back soon. Alan and shirley

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the second time my wife and i have stayed at the sands and it wont be the last, we took some friends this time they had the same opinion as us simply the best. All of the reviews speak volumes for the hosts Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan not forgetting Scooby, we intend making another visit next year. If you like a good English Breakfast this is the Hotet to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My second stay here for 4 nights on a business trip. It has all been said before. Looked after very well by Brian ,Lorraine and Jonathan. . Perfect location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Paignton for restaurants, bars etc, but the Hotel itself is very quiet at night for a good nights sleep. Enjoyed the music quiz in the evening - think the women's team cheated a bit.
Would definitely recommend and look forward to return visit next year + The icing on the cake - "decent marmalade for breakfast" !

Room Tip: Convenient, quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

i have stated at the sands several times with my husband, but this time took my family, lorraine brian and johnathan were as always so welcoming, my two grandsons (aged 11 and 8) had a wonderful time,and felt at home straight away. in fact they were spoilt by everyone from morning till night . when we played games and had a lot of fun. The hotel was spotlessly clean (a job well done by all including donna the cleaner) I stayed in room 4 which has a big window so you can sit in bed and watch the sea. i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good holiday. in a good clean friendly hotel. i cant wait until september when i will be going back again

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

had a lovely family easter break at the sands, brian,lorraine and johnathon was very welcoming hosts and nothing was to much for them they were extremely child friendly we had such a laugh and really enjoyed our evenings in the bar looking forward to going back there. would definatly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Address: 32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands ideally located in magnificent position on Paignton Seafront just a few yards from the beach, green and harbour, and only a short level walk to the town centre. Efficently run in a friendly manner. We have gained a reputation in ensuring everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed during their staywith us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.