We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonachan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sonachan House to your Saves list
Sonachan House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   35 St Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Lovely Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located at the top of the headland between the two main beach areas in Paignton, Sonachan House is well positioned for those wanting the 'family' appeal of Paignton Sands, or the slightly slower atmosphere at Goodrington Sands. It's a great base for touring the area, but you need to be aware that if you want to tour west of Dartmouth then you'll have to either take the vehicle ferry across the River Dart at Dartmouth, or drive around the estuary via Totnes. Parking is in marked bays behind the house up a short, steepish driveway. Not a problem unless you are exceptionally nervous. (If you are a nervous driver then beware the very narrow twisty roads off every main road in this area!! Quite challenging if you are not used to them.) Adjacent to the car park was a very pleasant decked area which was illuminated at night.
We received a wonderfully warm welcome on our arrival and were offered tea or coffee and provided with hints and tips about where to go and where to eat before being shown to our room. Room 10 is on the top floor and may be a bit of a struggle for the infirm, but the view over Torbay from the large window was very impressive. (There are plenty of other rooms on lower floors.) The room was spotlessly clean and decorated in a light but traditional style. A flat-screen TV, two easy-chairs, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of drawers, a wardrobe and complimentary fizzy and still mineral waters were all provided. The bed was soft, but comfortable, with all the linen and pillows smelling fresh and clean. The shower room was small, but more than adequate. It contained a modern electric shower in a pristine enclosure, basin and toilet. All were spotlessly clean. The shower took some time to drain when in use, but this was no inconvenience. Small bottles of shampoo, shower-gel and hand-cream were to hand. Breakfast is served only between 8.30am and 9.00am, but this limited time proved to be absolutely fine. All B & Bs have similar arrangements. The breakfast menu ran to two pages and included the standard 'Full English' which really set you up for the day. You could have all sorts of variations including an egg on toasted muffin with sauce, toast, cereals and home-made marmalades. This was all served in a light and airy dining room which was just starting to show signs of regular use in one or two places, although again it was very clean and tidy. Service was with a genuine smile! In the corner of the dining room was a small bar from which the owner served a range of drinks in the evening. There appeared to be a lounge area, but we were always out and never used it, so cannot comment. We ate at 'TJs' overlooking the harbour on two of our four evenings. This is 10/15 minutes walk from Sonachan House. They serve tapas and more substantial meals from a building which looks very plain indeed from the outside. However, the atmosphere was very friendly, the food was lovely and the view on a warm evening over the harbour from the veranda , with Torbay beyond, is very relaxing. In summary, you'd be hard-pushed to be disappointed with Sonachan House. The owners take real pride in what they are doing. Their Trip Advisor score is displayed prominently at Reception, along with a variety of awards. The rooms contain 'Feedback' forms for completion at the end of your stay. A lovely four days.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a bit of a climb up the stairs, but has beautiful views over Torbay. I'm well over 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
32
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been regular visitors for the past 10 years! Always made very welcome, the guest house is spotlessly clean and well run by Julie and Tony. Excellent for families as well as adults only. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at the sonachan on many occasions and the rooms (stayed in most), food and hosts are first class. the bar is also very well stocked if you don't want to venture out too late in the evening. Just in case she posts don't listen to the bitter good doctor who tried to blag a single into a double at a single price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked very late in the day for my stay at Sonachan House in Paignton, and was immediately impressed upon my arrival, which was less than an hour and a half later.
Room for parking was a real bonus, both on and off street and the initial welcome introduction and briefing was very good. I had a chat with the owner to explain what I was doing in the area (week long course in Devon and taking the chance to check out Paignton for a possible holiday with the kids) and asked for an earlier than usual breakfast as I had to travel to Plymouth on a daily basis for a course, which was immediately agreed to.
The room I stayed in was on the first floor and was only for one, but it had en-suite shower, TV on the wall, wifi internet access for free and enough room to unpack, be comfortable and relax. However the best part of staying here was, for me, undoubtedly the living room. This was very well looked after, large, adjacent to my room and offered me the chance to relax with my laptop, the TV and DVD player. There are a couple of hundred DVD movies available to watch and I managed to find a few goodies to entertain me in the evenings.
Paignton Beach and the town centre itself is less than a ten minute downhill walk away, and I took the opportunity to look around as planned.
Another great thing about Sonachan House is the fact that the bar/dining room is available for all to use, even if you wish to bring back a takeaway and sit there with a plate supplied by the staff.
This was ideal for me as I returned to the B&B at different times each day.
A great stay and if the same situation arises again, I would definitely check to see if a room is available for me to stay in. There were also a couple of families staying during the week and they seemed to relish the space that was available to spread out in and enjoy the games and children's DVD's that are available for entertainment.

Thanks all.

Patrick

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a lovely friendly stay, will definitely book again, couldn't do more to help. Ideal for small children, with the pets, lovely hosts, spotlessly clean, good value for money. Close to the beach, always available to advise on trips out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were a party of 4 staying 2 nights in May. On arrival Julie welcomed us with drinks and made us feel at home. My wife and I had a double room with en-suite shower which was very comfortable and we all enjoyed the excellent comprehensive breakfast menu including cooked items which were freshly prepared. Tony and Julie were excellent hosts and we would certainly visit them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The first time we have stayed in a B&B as a family. Compared to some hotels we found that the service and comfort was far superior. I have never been welcomed to a hotel being offered tea or coffee on arrival!
The owners were lovely as was their daughter, very friendly, lovely breakfast with good quality ingredients.
Our family room had proper single beds not fold up beds and when you have bigger children this means that they get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonachan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonachan House

Address: 35 St Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonachan House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, licensed Guest House ideally situated for the numerous attractions of Paignton, including the beach, pier, multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour, the green, Torbay Leisure Centre and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway. Goodrington beach is a short walk away where you will find Quaywest Water Park and many other water attractions. We have 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which have beverage tray, TV, clock radio & hairdryer. We have a bar where you can relax with a drink and/or join in the games and quizzes that we organize. Guests are welcome to enjoy our gardens where you can relax and take in the peace & quiet while you have a pot of tea or something stronger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonachan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonachan House Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonachan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.