We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Summerhill Hotel to your Saves list
Summerhill Hotel
2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
Blandford Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a great find this was we stayed in the sydney windsor room nice big room huge bed sea view.breakfast is fantastic, all served to your table, now the evening meals are very good and your get very large portions, I only managed desert once.your hosts are really great and very friendly.I recomend this hotel very highly.we will return thankyou.

Room Tip: Sydney windsor room, great big bay windows with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
76
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st brice courcelles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Charming hotel hotel at Paignton, at 100 meter (by feet) for the front. great local food and a wonderful Breakfast. owners and staff make of this place a wonderful one! children from 3 years old are welcome, parking is free and easy to use, free wifi, tea, water and biscuits available in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent value for B&B and very wide choice of breakfast menu, with good quality ingredients and well cooked. Evening meals a bit pricey, but very good. My husband & I stayed between 9 - 12 Sep. Debbie & daughter Sophia very pleasant, they were responsible for taking restaurant orders & serving. Could not fault them in any way.
As we were celebrating our anniversary, Debbie said the bottle of Rioja wine we ordered was on the house. My husband does not like cold beer but all the supplies of "Old Peculiar" were stored in fridge, so she made a point of removing some in case he chose to order more during our stay, which he did & was then able to enjoy the beer of his choice at the temperature he enjoyed.
We had a south facing balcony room No.7. Great view of sea and surrounding area while standing, but not so good while seated as the balcony was surrounded by quite a high wall.
Room was more than adequate, bed comfortable, shower of good standard & in good working order.
Debbie, Sophia and her sister also make high standard individually designed jewelry on site. They had a large selection of pieces and sets on display, all of which were of a very good quality and varied greatly in style. All highly reccommended, I would happily have purchased many pieces if money was no object. As it is, my husband bought me a beautiful set of earrings & necklace for a anniversary present.
We would happily stay at this establishment (owned and managed by the same family, Debbie and daughter Sophia, sorry we did not learn the name of Debbie's husband?) again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Summerhill Hotel in August 2013 for one week for my study abroad. The house is old. Most of the rooms are old, not restored. The heater made ​​noises, the taps dripped and TV and WiFi broke down every day.

The boss loves English families, and does not like strangers, especially not individual tourists. Foreign tourists get a table in the foyer of the restaurant. The main restaurant is only for English families. The boss is arrogant and strict, and if you complain they just say: "This is a waste of time".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stopped in Paignton for the night, on my way to Cornwall, and was able to book in the morning to stay at the hotel that evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My single room was small, but clean, quiet and comfortable and it had everything that I needed for a very comfortable night.

I ate dinner in the hotel restaurant which has a pretty view, and I had a lovely fresh salad and the breakfast was very generous and very nice. Altough I was on my own I felt comfortable, and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent two nights at the Hotel during a short break to Devon. The staff are wonderful, helpful and very polite. Only had breakfast at the Hotel as we chose to eat out on an evening, but the Breakfast menu gives a very wide choice of options, which includes a enormous "Full English" which would slow a second row forward down. Parking was somewhat awkward for anything larger than a hatchback in the main car park, so used the overflow, which is on a steep hill and is very tight to get in to. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable, as the weather was quite warm we left the window open through the night with no issues as the location is so quite after 10:00ish. The furnishing and en-suite are beginning to show there age but are very clean and tidy. We found we did not need to use the alarm as you can hear every shower in the hotel clear as a bell, so from around 07:00 to 08:30 it is a constant assault on the ears, so no sleeping in here. The hotel is indeed very close to a very nice beach, however you must pass through another beach area which allows dogs, so beware if you do not like dogs running around off the lead (up to 20-30 at a time).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during two nights of our honeymoon! We had a complimentary bottle of wine the first evening in the bar as it was our honeymoon and the staff were really lovely! It's a family run hotel, our room was perfect, really comfortable and plenty big enough, the view from our balcony was amazing! The breakfast was of very high quality! There's not many places you can get grilled kippers and poached eggs cooked to perfection, but this place topped the bill! The food was absolutely faultless! We didn't stay for dinner as we were out and about, but the people that we spoke to in the hotel said the evening meal was really really good! The hotel is old and beautiful with great views, literally 2 minute walk to the seafront and not far from anywhere.
We want to take the kids down next time as we know they would love it and we would recommend this place to anyone wanting a lovely place to stay in Paignton and good food with really friendly staff. Lovely place xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.