We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and convenient guest house near the sea front” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Culverden Guest House

Culverden Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culverden Guest House
Save
You added Culverden Guest House to your Saves list
4, Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient guest house near the sea front”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Pack lunch was excellent and good value. Free internet worked well. Spring weather was a bit chilly and the owner put the central heating on when we arrived and when required during our stay. One morning, the hot water began to run out mid shower but I would not let this deter from staying again.

Location is good for touring Torbay and only a short walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

A good old fashioned seaside guest house, that does what it says on the tin. Very friendly proprietors that made us feel very welcome and were excellent with our 1 year old daughter, which does make a lot of difference. With the little one, we appreciated the security of a locked front door, and a comfortable guest lounge just inside it, so we could see anyone coming or going.
The breakfast was exceptionally good for such a small establishment, with a good choice of fruits and cereals, as well as numerous cooked options. The proprietors make an effort to serve locally sourced or fair trade produce where possible, and have a Green Tourism silver award.
Add to that a 2 or 3 minute walk to the beach, and you have a great place for a family seaside holiday.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

every year we go to pete and miranda mortlock's guest house and stay for three nights to visit the anual bike fest event run by bmad, there is always lots to do there, but the best part of our stay is the guest house owners who make us most welcome with a load of laughs.they are the host and hostesses with the mostesses,the rooms are very clean and well decorated with on suite and our room has a balcony you can see the sea,we love going there and pete and miranda always make us feel at home,there is a lounge,and the dinning room is superb, the food well what can i say,best breakfast on the riviera

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We stayed here in April to visit nearby Greenway House for two nights. Peter and Miranda made us feel very welcome and had lots of useful leaflets and advice about the local area.

The rooms were clean, well presented, (I liked the chocolates in the rooms), and I believe most if not all have an en-suite bathroom. The only issue we had with the room was hot water but this was very swiftly sorted out.

Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereal and cooked breakfast and as much tea/coffee and toast as you can manage. Advice was also on hand for restaurants for the evening, The Boathouse is a must, we ate there twice!!!

I was also impressed when I mentioned I was a big Agatha Christie fan that information was on hand about events later on in the year to encourage me to come back, and I will.

We had a great stay there and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Thanks Peter and Miranda for a wonderful stay. This is a treasure of a place to stay for any length of time. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. We went with our two teenage daughters who enjoyed their time at the hotel.
The breakfasts are huge and set you up for the day. Miranda also provided us with pack lunches when we went out for the day, these were also healthy and wholesome.
Peter and Miranda are both lovely hoteliers, Peter's singing in the morning really brighten the start of the day!
I would recommend this hotel to couples, families with young or older children and single persons you can't go wrong booking here for your break.

  • Liked — The room and service
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

Peter and Miranda are great hosts, they are friendly, informative and very welcoming. The B&B was very clean, the breakfast was great (wonderful bacon!), and our room was very comfortable. We were travelling with our two children (2 and 1 year old) and there was a highchair every morning at breakfast and a cot waiting in our room. The B&B is very family friendly. There is loads of info provided on things to see and do in Paignton and the surrounding area, the info pack in our room was tailored specifically for our needs. I would highly recommend the Culverden Hotel to anyone heading to the Paignton area.

Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday.

  • Liked — it was set back from the main road, so we didn't have any road noise.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, Glos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

As the owners of a small dog we had to find a place that would accept us bringing ours along. Peter and Miranda, the owners welcomed 'Tammy' and even had a biscuit treat waiting in the room for her.
The hotel was spotless and the atmosphere so welcoming we felt as if we had been there before. The hotel is well within a few minutes walk from the lovely sandy beach and just around ten minutes walk from Paignton Town centre which offers a splended choice of shops along with great eating places, many of which offer 'Two meals for the price of one' at certain times of the day.
Our room was very comfortable, warm with en-suite , TV and tea making facilities. The wonderful huge breakfast set us up for the day.
We will certainly be visiting Paignton again and would love to stay with Peter and Miranda once more.

  • Liked — Great homely atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culverden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culverden Guest House

Address: 4, Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Culverden Guest House Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culverden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.