We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Manor Inn

The Old Manor Inn
18,Old Torquay Road, Paignton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 132 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff and Food in this place is WELL worth a visit. We had been greeted,seated and served within minutes of entering.It is slightly tucked away,which was great for us as this probably makes it a little quieter. They catered perfectly for our children. In fact,we stayed in Preston/Paignton for five days,and,we ate here three times. Sunday Lunch was BRILLIANT. Will Definitely be going back there. Thanks for your hospitality to the staff there at a little Oasis of a "country pub" in the heart of a tourist area. Loved it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
woodyqpr
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent pub grub. Can use Paignton booklet for the 15% discount voucher too. I had a wonderful steak and ale pie, lovely veg, packed with tender meat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Grubby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Dirty grubby pub with funny tasting real ales ( no idea if that's how the beer was supposed to taste ? ) The state of the place put me off trying the food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Away from the tourist bars - worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

More of a drinking establishment but they do serve meals as well in a well-appointed restaurant area. We enjoyed what we had without it being exceptional but then again the prices were very reasonable so we didn’t expect Michelin star standards. Service pleasant enough both at the bar and restaurant. Being a little off the beaten track it appears to be more of a locals pub rather than tourists but is worth a visit. Plenty of car parking available and a pleasant beer garden.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice up pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

nice up dated furnishing. a good proper pub. good parking nice staff, good choice of drinks, food well priced and also a selection of specials,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Manor Inn also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Old Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.