We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bistro atmosphere,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm Tree

The Palm Tree
41 Hyde Road, Paignton, England
+44 1803 521035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 132 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: All day Steak & Grill with daily specials, selection of local seafood, lunchtime lite bites, vegetarian options and cream tea's open 7 days per week.Carvery on a Sunday using local sourced meat. Our aim is to provide high quality food using locally sourced produce where practicable. We have put a lot of effort into the selection of our coffee beans to produce a coffee to rival the best in the business. Our supplier has produced a blend that is unique to us in order to give us the taste we are striving for. We also have a wide variety of loose leaf teas.We offer a good selection of cakes and scones, most of which are home made.We are fully licensed and offer a range of locally produced beers and cider as well as some global brands. We also have a good selection of wines. The restaurant has been recently refurbished to provide a pleasant dining environment and boasts a large outdoor terrace seating area overlooking the garden, which is part covered so it can be used when the weather is not at its best.
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, bistro atmosphere,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

OK, we went on a cold Friday night, the restaurant was empty, and was a little soulless, you appear to be sat in a shop! the waiting staff, a young lad was very helpful, the food was good (in fact very good for Paignton!) on the whole an evening that was not improved by the winter weather and a no customers, but improved by the quality food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have now visited twice and each time excellent all food we and friends had was presented well tasted fantastic . Service very good and good value compared to other restaurants in Torbay .
I would put them as one of the top three restaurants in Torbay .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food mediocre; service terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went to the palm tree restaurant in late summer 2012. the food was mediocre but worst of all I was OVERCHARGED by £9.25. When I queried this [there was nothing on the menu for £9.25] and asked to speak to the owner I was told that the TIME [925 pm] had been added to my bill!!
When I asked what they were going to do about it I was grudgingly told that my bill had been amended and that was all. I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Looking for somewhere for lunch, the Palm Tree didn't disappoint. Lovely freshly prepared food. The Halloumi open sandwich was delicious as was the Pulled Pork Sandwich. Loose leaf tea made as you like. Friendly service. Good quality and reasonable in price. Would go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Popped in for lunch after being recommended by a friend. Nothing was too much trouble - the only difficulty we had was in making a choice on what to eat! Food was excellent & good value & will definitely visit again to try some of the other choices. Apparently their home made cakes are delicious. The Palm Tree is not in the main street so could easily be overlooked, but it's worth going a couple of minutes out of your way if you want top quality food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm Tree also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Palm Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.