We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wouldnt recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Devon Hills Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Devon Hills Holiday Village to your Saves list
Devon Hills Holiday Village
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Totnes Road, Paignton TQ4 7PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really wouldnt recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with my Hsuband in September 2012. We booked and paid for a log cabin which turned out to be a normal caravan with wood stuck on the outside. The caravan was damp and musty with condensation constantly streaming down the windows. As I had just found out I was pregnant and suffering from accute sickness, I ended up sleeping in the lounge of the caravan on the sofas. Every morning I would get up and my clothes would be dusty from sleeping on the sofas. I beat the cushions once to find out why my clothes were so dirty and a huge cloud of dust came out! Apart from this and the damp, the caravan itself was ok. The onsite pub was good but the meals were expensive and very large! We would have preferred to pay a smaller price and been given an average portion rather than oversize. The site is on a main road which was audible from our caravan and not mentioned in the brochure. The swimming pool closed during the middle of the day which I found quite inconvenient and there wasnt any other activities on site. As the site was on a main road, we couldnt walk anywhere in the general area and had to drive to get anywhere. Not overly impressed, wouldnt recommend and wouldnt go back.

Room Tip: Just dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon Hills. We really appreciate all comments as without these we cannot improve our service. We are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Devon Hills. The holiday homes you refer to are advertised as timber clad holiday homes which are 12ft wide. You do not mention how you booked the holiday so we can only apologise if you were informed you would be staying in a log cabin as this is not accurate and does not describe any of the accommodation we have on site. Cleanliness is an extremely important part of our business and we are sorry that your holiday home was not to the standard you expected. You do not mention within your review if you brought the issues mentioned to anyones attention on site. I do hope that you did and that they were rectified to your satisfaction. We will always do whatever we can to try and ensure all our guests enjoy their holiday and if we are made aware of an issue we will do our best to resolve it.
Devon Hills is located on a main road, however not all the accommodation will be affected by road noise due to the lay out of the park. We therefore do not list this in the brochure but have it on both ours and Hoseasons websites for affected grades and also both call centres are aware when selling and should be informing any customers who may be affected.
Since your visit last year we have a new menu at the Blagdon Inn which includes some "light bites" and smaller portions. We hope therefore that we will be catering towards everyones needs.
Thank you again for your comments and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here last week from the 2nd of march till the 9th the site is so lovely we stayed in a lodge NoSH50 sh stands for south hams lodge 50 it has a panaramic view window full gas central heating and very well equipped we couldnt of asked for a better lodge as we looked around the site all lodges and caravans looked to be of a very good standard with nice frendly staff both on the site and in the pub

Now for the down side bits well we only found 2
1 The site is a little far out from the resorts a car is needed but there is a bus stop on the main road the bus service is very good in all directions when out and about
2 We found whilst in the pub a few of the owners can be a little ignorant but dont let it put you off because the others and the staff are ace you can have a really good night out in there

Well peps thats it alls i can say is enjoy if you choose to visit and hope ive been of some help

Room Tip: some vans and lodges can get some road noise at times ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon Hills. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here September 2011 (not 2012) in a Country Lodge 4. Lodge was nice a clean as expected. Surroundings are very peaceful if out of season. Would imaging to be busier in the main holidays. Swimming/sauna/steam room facilities are good and including in the price. Only drawback is the Blagdon pub which used to be a lovely country pub but has been turned into a very modern eatery and has lost its character. Not a lot to do but excellent if you want peace and quiet. Overall a good holiday experience.

Room Tip: Be prepared to travel out for food...The local pub isn't to everyone's taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon Hills. We really appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have made a number of changes since your visit in 2011 and hope that you will return to the park soon to see the improvements.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just arrived back from our 4 day Christmas stay at Devon Hills. We originally booked a caravan as we have 2 dogs, and to our delight and suprise we were upgraded to a superior country lodge, at no extra charge. When we arrived we were gobsmacked, the lodge was absolutely wonderful. Having stayed in many different holiday accomodations this was vastly superior, to be honest, we had never stayed in anything like it. If only all holiday accomodations were like this. The whole of the surroundings were very well looked after, even though it was soaked every day. Well done Haulfryn Holidays, will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon Hills. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding the accommodation and the site.
We do hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Sea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Mid-week break in a Superior Country Four Platinum - Brambles 84 November 12th 2012
Booked by my parents as a last minute deal, we decided to pay a little extra and had a Superior Country Lodge Four Platinum. It was a toss-up between this and the 'VIP' version for the extra hot-tub at the time, but decided to have the larger living-space inside, and just use the pool instead at this time of year.
The Lodge inside was quite luxurious, and lovely and warm. We found it to be in near 'as new' condition, and spotlessly clean. The wardrobes all have little heating tubes in, so even stored clothes are all nicely kept aired. The kitchen was fully equipped, and all in good condition. Items we take 'just in case' were not needed in this lodge. For instance, there were casseroles with lids suitable for the microwave (often lacking from accomodation), a decent non-stick frying pan, oven gloves, chopping board, full compliment of crockery, wine glasses (how often have we had to request those elsewhere?!) Even a narrow wine cooler! There was also a full sized fridge-freezer and dishwasher.....but we did forget to take the tablets for this! A welcome pack of tea, coffee, biscuits, and milks were left out on arrival, along with washing-up items to use, so all in all, extremely pleased.
The only niggle being that the huge new living-room hi-tech TV didn't appear to have a DVD player anywhere in sight, and I had taken 2 films I wanted to watch this time! Nothing was too much trouble though, and by the next morning the TV was willingly replaced by one with a DVD, including several light-bulbs found to be not working, and a bent tin-opener. (Why do folk not report these to maintenance during their stay?!)
The site is peaceful and quiet (as stated). Not having children in our party I can't really comment on facilities for them, but the pool does have a sectioned off child area for them.
I was very impressed that the pool is open from 7am till 9pm, with 'adult only' swim 2hrs of this, morning and evening. This easily allowed for swimming twice a day, around daily trips out....lovely!
All the site-staff were found to be friendly, pleasant and welcoming. I found the changing rooms clean and in working order, including hair-dryers. The steam-room and sauna were very nice too. For I believe a £5 initial induction session fee, you could then use all the high-tech fitness equipment in the studio for free during your stay, but we elected just to use the pool facilities.
The Blagdon Inn located on the site does look very nice inside, with a good varied selection of meals on offer at a reasonable cost for that type of menu. Unfortunately we just didn't manage to fit in a visit here, either eating whilst out, or meals prior catered for, and already taken with us.
The main aim of our stay was to have a relaxing luxury break and to explore the immediate area. Just a short drive away is Paignton, although there is a bus-stop very near, and buses are a worry-free way of travelling around and seeing this area. For £4.90 (available from driver) travel is free all day, and under £20 for 5 days (Stagecoach). As I was with my retired parents who already have a free bus-pass, we did use this option one of our days, as parking can be costly and difficult, even out of season to some areas.
Would recommend an evening in Torquay to see it all lit-up in and around the harbour, with a meal in the Harvester overlooking it all- you won't be disappointed. (Bus does not go right up to site v.late though, so if using this option- park in Paignton and bus from there) Also a pleasant walk awaits the harbour end of Paignton- carry on up and walk through the Cliff Gardens then zig-zag down the path walk to Goodrington Sands bay, a short stroll away. Obviously out of season many things have finished/closed down for the Winter, but it is still a truely pretty part of the coast, and well worth a visit at any time of the year.
As to previous requests of a site shop? ...
They often remain empty and under-used, but still need to be staffed, adding to site costing. There is excellent cheap supermarket shopping not far away. Asda, Sainsburys and Morrisons all within an easy short diving distance, with late opening, so unpack and visit there instead for anything you haven't taken or forgotten.
If I wanted to visit this area again, I would definately consider booking this park again, as we all very much enjoyed our stay ;)
Improvements?? Only....
One dishwasher tablet added to your welcome pack for the nits who forget to pack them?! ;D
Possibly a 'Guest Questionaire' for: 'anything we need to know about' - concerning maintenance issues of your Lodge....eg blown light-bulbs, etc? ;)

Room Tip: If you want a touch of luxury...... pick the higher priced better quality accomodation. All of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon Hills. We really appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have taken on board your comments in relation to dishwasher tablets and the guest feedback service.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a few days at this site with our 2 year old twins and was very glad that we had not spent the week there, it was not a small child friendly campsite there were very few facilities available.

Unfortunately the same applied to the adult facilities and anything other than swimming had to be scheduled according to the staff. And although we had paid for a holiday the only thing that was paid for was the accommodation as all the facilities also had a separate charge for using it.

The staff there were also quite rude and learing, we did not feel at all comfortable being on the site or using the facilities.

paignton was a nice place but it was not part of the park so it should not be in the review in my opinion.

The onsite restaurant had meals if you didnt mind paying £10 per course.

The static caravan was nice and comfortable but we felt that it was making up for what was missing from the rest of the park. I do not believe that you should go on holiday to spend time indoors.

Our grandmother remained inside the caravan when onsite as the decking surrounding the static caravan lodge was growing mould and algi from the constant damp produced by the over covering of trees. This was very slippy and dangerous for her all of the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon HIlls. We really appreciate all comments as without this we cannot improve our service.
We are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. You do not mention how you booked your holiday, however we have worked extremely hard with Hoseasons and our marketing team to ensure that our websites and brochures are accurate and detail what is included in the holiday.
Your holiday includes your accommodation and access to the facilities. You can use the swimming pool, sauna, steam room, tennis courts and gym free of charge. We are part of Hoseasons Go Active range of parks where we have a range of activities available at an additional cost, however as I am sure you can appreciate due to the number of activities available there needs to be a schedule in place for when the activities happen, similar to when you travel abroad and there are excursions available.
I am very concerned to hear that the staff were rude and unhelpful and sincerely apologise if you found this to be the case. We pride ourselves on the service that we provide and it is never nice to hear of issues in relation to this.
I would very much like to look into the queries you have raised further and have sent you a private message with my contact details. I hope you will contact me and allow us the opportunity to look into your issues more thoroughly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just got back from a week at Devon Hills. We stayed at Brambles 70 and, unlike some reviews, we were really disappointed. The positive was that we were allowed to check in early. However, on the whole we wished we hadn't. We have stayed in many lodges before and since this was billed as 'VIP' we were expecting better. Hoseasons really need to look at making sure that they are consistent across sites.The lodge was very small for 4. The twin room beds were half size and the double was not really a double. We did not really sleep well for the whole time. The reviews in the visitor book were good and said that the lodge was well equipped! However, there was one baking tray, no oven gloves or tea towels. We have always had towels provided on these types of breaks but there were none, so we had to borrow from reception. The hot tub was good but the maintenance man said there were instructions below the TV - there weren't. The carpet in the lounge was filthy.
This was billed as an active holiday. The staff in the leisure complex did not offer our children any activities or appear at all interested when we enquired about them. The pool and sauna etc were ok but not clean. In the ladies changing room the shower flooded everytime we were in there and guests were having to sweep up the water.
The location of Devon Hills is excellent so it is a shame that the standards are not as good as other Lodge parks that are available in other parts of the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Devon Hills Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Devon Hills. We do appreciate all feedback and we are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
The lodge that you stayed in is classed as a Country 4 VIP and is described by Hoseasons as follows; Modern 12ft-wide timber clad single storey holiday home. One double and one twin. Shower. Decking with garden furniture. Outdoor hot tub.The VIP refers to the fact the lodge has a hot tub. I am unsure as to how you booked your holiday with Hoseasons, however we do provide them with adequate information on all categories of lodges. Just so you are aware, Hoseasons only act as an agent and dont own any of the parks they advertise. All different park operators have different types of accommodation.
I am sorry that you were expecting towels in your lodge. Having reviewed Hoseasons website and brochure, it does advise that towels are not included. I am pleased however that the park were able to supply you with some.
Devon Hills is a Go Active park and has a wide range of activities available for all ages. Timetables are available at reception or from Hoseasons in advance. I am sorry you felt the staff took no interest in the booking of the activities and I have fed this back to the Park Manager. I have also fed back your comments on the leisure centre in general.
We do appreciate your comments and are sorry that you were disappointed. I would suggest that if you havent already done so, you contact Hoseasons regarding the issues you are unhappy with and I will liaise with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Devon Hills Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Hills Holiday Village

Address: Totnes Road, Paignton TQ4 7PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Hills Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devon Hills Holiday Park offers truly prestigious luxury holiday homes in Devon, all of which are set in a most impressive and idyllically located park. Constructed to the highest standards and complete with the finest fixtures, furnishings and fittings, a Devon Hills luxury holiday home is your ultimate retreat for peace and tranquillity, activity and sports, glamour and plenty of family fun. Nestling in a picturesque valley just 2-miles from the glorious and popular seaside town of Paignton, Devon Hills is everything you would expect from a highly-respected 5-star Devon Holiday Park situated in the English Riviera. With 60-acres of landscaped parkland just ready for exploration, along with sensational panoramic views and the wildly magnificent Dartmoor National Park on your doorstep, you're spoilt for choice when it comes to great days out. Furthermore, 22-miles of beautiful beaches, golden sands and crystal clear waters are within a stone's throw from your beautifully appointed lodge on Devon Hills or caravan on Orchard Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Devon Hills Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hills Holiday Village Paignton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon Hills Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.