We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripple Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beefeater Grill Paignton

Beefeater Grill Paignton
White Rock, Long Road TQ4 7RZ, Paignton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 134 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ripple Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Premier Inn and had all our meals at this Beefeater. There was a menu card information in our room. We opted for continental breakfast on each morning. Good selection of fruit to go with cereals, though staff were unable to provide a fresh banana (which I have to have daily for medical reasons) - despite bananas being available in the evening in at least 2 desserts.

The menu (in our room) said on the back page "2 courses £11.99" when asking for Lemon & Herb Fish (priced at £11.99), the waitress said we couldn't have this particular fish in lieu of the Grilled Salmon Bearnaise which was exactly the same price. She said this was not "the 2 courses £11.99 offer". Why not? same price, just different fish!

Back to the menu in our room - nothing was mentioned about "daytime value menu" which apparently offers a special price if you dine before 6.30 pm on Mondays to Saturdays. This we would have done had we known about it, as we like to eat early evening. We only found out about it when leaving the Premier Inn reception - the receptionist pointed this out to us on an almost identical menu she had on her desk.

Despite missing out on the "special offer" - we both enjoyed the Lemon & Herb Fish which we were told came from South Africa. My husband thought the amount of small new potatoes was insufficient for him and asked the waitress for a few more which came quite quickly. We had to pay the extra for a dessert which we shared between us.

Overall we thought the food to be of good quality though we would have liked to be informed of special offers BEFORE entering the tastefully decorated restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    25
    17
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a meal there last night. Had to book, very busy.
Had a drink in the bar area first, hard to find a clean table. For our meal, had the combo which was delicious, followed by the ribs which I usually have and were very tasty and Hubbie had the rib-eye which was also good. Quite pricey for pub food but probably no more than anywhere else these days. Service was good and our waitress, Clare, was friendly and efficient.
Overall, a good pub, decent food, can't really go wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“pretty much as expected, overpriced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

nice staff, good food, nice bar and clean restaurant, good free parking for customers and stayed in preimer inn opposite and breakfast was ever better

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely evenings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited whilst on holiday and were not disappointed in any way. The food was great,I can recommend the ribs,absolutely irresistible. My husband had the burger which he said was great apart from the bun itself which was dry.The waitress was attentive showing good customer service skills.We enjoyed it so much we visited once again during our month stay in Devon.This visit was equally as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but the service couldn't be worse!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited on the 5th of September as a couple, we didn't book and the restaurant was full but then booked a table and returned an hour later. We were seated upon arrival and the restaurant was rather quiet by this time. We ordered and soon after our starters came, after that everything went downhill. We had unlimited soft drinks and meals with the bottomless chips. Upon asking for refills, the first girl only refilled one of the cokes although we asked for two. Then we asked for one more chips and the other refill which got forgotten about. We also asked for another portion of chips, the second portion came but still no sign of the other coke and chips. About 10 minutes later we asked again and they finally came. Very poor service, especially considering how quiet the restaurant was.. The food is nice, but the service brings it down and we wouldn't recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beefeater Grill Paignton also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Beefeater Grill Paignton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beefeater Grill Paignton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.