We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briars

Briars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Briars to your Saves list
Briars
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our second time of staying there, made to feel as welcome as ever. A lovely clean, friendly, comfortable and welcoming place. Excellent home-cooked breakfast. Overall a fantastic visit and we have booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Check their website, for details of each room to suit your needs. We have stayed both with sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just had the most wonderful 4 day break at the Briars.
Malcolm and Mandy are just the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they make you feel at home from the minute you walk in.
The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. The Briars is great value for money and we will definitely be going back again.

Thanks again to Malcolm and Mandy - Jim and Linda Lee, Huddersfield.

P.S. If you do find a spec of dust please send me a photo.

Room Tip: our room was at the rear but still super very quiet very comfortable. sea views at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

lovely friendy hotel, excellent situation for touring the area or just enjoying paignton itself, wonderful food, great company and always a warm welcome....excellent value for money, would recommend for families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently had a lovely stay at this hotel. An excellent location overlooking the bay, and fine service from Malcolm & Mandy. Breakfast was wonderful and the property nice and clean. We have no problem with recommending it to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Briars and we received such a lovely warm welcome from Mandy and Malcolm, it made a perfect start to a perfect break. The room was an excellent standard, with an amazing view of Torbay. Breakfast was a treat, excellent service and great choice, cooked to your own preferences. We would recommend the Briars to family and friends. Paignton has a very friendly feel, service everywhere was excellent. A trip on the steam train is a 'must'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From an excellent welcome, every part of our stay at the Briars was exceptional! Excellent hosts, excellent room and superb location. The service from Mandy and Malcolm was very personal and welcoming, we could not fault any aspect of our stay and look forward to returning again very soon, our 8 year old Jacob even commented how much that made him feel at home, he too cannot wait to return!.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent breakfast, brilliant hosts. The hotel is in a great location from the town and the sea front and the harbour. The service from Mandy and Malcolm is second to none.
Car parking is never a issue as there are plenty of spaces available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars

Address: 26 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star silver award guest accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.