We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class visitor attraction.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dartmouth Steam Railway and River Boat Company

Dartmouth Steam Railway and River Boat Company
Queen's Park Station, Paignton TQ4 6AF, England
+44 1803 555872
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award winning Dartmouth Steam Railway & River Boat Company!...Dartmouth Steam Railway steam trains travel seven miles along the most spectacular South Devon coast down into the Dart Valley and to the village of Kingswear which sits proudly opposite the Port of Dartmouth. Dartmouth River Boats operate on the stunning river Dart offering daily services to the historic town of Totnes and to the picturesque village of Dittisham. Harbour Cruises operate daily from Dartmouth. There are also wonderful adventures by sea from Torquay, Brixham & Salcombe to enjoy. We are unique in offering combined steam railway, bus and boat excursions for days out in Devon. The Round Robin is an award-winning full day out - a steam train journey, ferry crossing, river cruise and bus ride - a great full day out!In addition, we operate the last remaining coal fired paddle steamer in the UK - the beautiful 'Kingswear Castle'.Plus lots of other fantastic excursions and combinations!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Caithness
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First class visitor attraction.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I heartily recommend the Dartmouth Steam Railway for a day out. If you can afford the extra £3 each way it is worth using the observation car. Formerly a Devon Belle observation car, the well appointed, if a little tired, car offers tremendous views of the track, scenery and if it is attached to the locomotive an excellent view of teh steam engine at work. Helpful and friendly staff too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    927
    291
    44
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Choo-Choo-Slurp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A cold December day and yet again we've returned to have another chuff down the line to Dartmouth. Met with the lovely smell of mulled wine onboard. Well worth the extra purchase. We never tire of this trip (having now undertaken it on dozens of occassions).

If you stick your head out the window (which you should never do of course) then just make sure you beware the grit in the eye from the engine.

The sounds, the smell, the slow steady chuff along the lines.

A great day out. Go enjoy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Provider of excellent services and days out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had five days in Devon without our car, using the services of the Dartmouth Steam Railway and River Boat Company throughout. They got us to Dartmouth and back and took us around while we were there with no hitch and, using the Jubilee Pass, for very little cost over the five days. We shall return to take more of the tours, for our trip was far too short to do everything they offer. The staff are friendly and efficient, going beyond their duties to be helpful and everything is clean and well-run.

I can recommend a ride in the Pullman Observation Car, not only when it is at the back of the train giving a good view of the countryside, but also when it is behind the locomotive in Greenway Tunnel!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dartmouth Steam Railway-25-05-13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent day out with the Train ride & boat trip across the river & a pleasant afternoon wandering around Dartmouth

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“perfect way to travel......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We travelled to Paignton and back on the steam train today and it was a perfect mode of transport. Clean, atmospheric, fantastic views, snack carriage, friendly staff...... We couldn't fault it and are so pleased we abandoned the car for the day. Our only word of caution is that if you buy the ticket in Dartmouth inclusive of the ferry passage, it's the passenger ferry. We took the lower ferry by accident and had to pay extra.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartmouth Steam Railway and River Boat Company also viewed

 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Dartmouth Steam Railway and River Boat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartmouth Steam Railway and River Boat Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.