We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paignton Zoo is Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paignton Zoo Environmental Park

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park
Totnes Road, Paignton TQ4 7EU, England
+44 844 474 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Paignton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paignton Zoo Environmental Park is a conservation and education charity located in South Devon. With around two thousand animals, we have more species than anyone else in the South West. These include: crocodiles, snakes, lions, tigers, giraffes, elephant, rhinos, lemurs, meerkats, orang utans...The list is endless! We also have indoor play areas, the Jungle Express train and a lakeside restaurant. If you wish, we also offer special feeding experiences with certain animals, e.G. Meerkats, giraffes, giant tortoises, etc. Paignton Zoo is a member of the British and Irish Association of Zoos and Aquariums.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paignton Zoo is Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is an absolute must visit place regardless of age!!! In my view this is the best zoo in the country.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,055
    368
    106
    31
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

First visit to a zoo in 28 years. Just brilliant, liked the way the animals were care for. Although it was a busy day the park is big enough that we did not feel crowded in.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear David,
Thank you very much for your review. You have written our 1000th review! No prize, I'm afraid, however your review and support is very much appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Best wishes,
George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Fantastic time had at the zoo. Excellently kept with interesting animals all very lively which is unusual for a zoo! Cant wait to visit again

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilning, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paignton Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a really good day here. Lots of different animals to see. Place is nice to walk around with plenty of places to get food or snacks and plenty of toilets. Food in main restaurant was quite good, would recommend having kids meals as much cheaper but still plenty for a lunch time. Can always get a pudding after if need it.
Our girls are 13 & 11 and thought it was great here. Really enjoyed watching the baboons, monkeys & meerkats, the sheep and goats were funny to interact with. Lots of birds to see too. Also found staff friendly and helpful. Overall a great day out. Will definitely visit again when down this way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston Green, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I took our 2 boys ages 3 and 6 over the easter holidays.
I've been to this zoo many times but always enjoy it. Plenty of shows like animal feeding sessions and talks by the keepers. Lovely family day out. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paignton Zoo Environmental Park also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Paignton Zoo Environmental Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.