We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Day Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paignton Zoo Environmental Park

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park
Totnes Road, Paignton TQ4 7EU, England
+44 844 474 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Paignton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paignton Zoo Environmental Park is a conservation and education charity located in South Devon. With around two thousand animals, we have more species than anyone else in the South West. These include: crocodiles, snakes, lions, tigers, giraffes, elephant, rhinos, lemurs, meerkats, orang utans...The list is endless! We also have indoor play areas, the Jungle Express train and a lakeside restaurant. If you wish, we also offer special feeding experiences with certain animals, e.G. Meerkats, giraffes, giant tortoises, etc. Paignton Zoo is a member of the British and Irish Association of Zoos and Aquariums.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Good Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A great day out for the family, a fantastic place to engage with the animals. I went with my wife , her grandparents and took our 14 week old Son, he really did love it. The admission was a decent price and we were there for a long time. A lot of walking was done but there is a land train if needed. Also no insect houses and much that is not under cover so take rain gear if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,055
    368
    106
    31
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great Zoo well laid out with lots of information given. e spent a nice leisurely day and saw everything. Good value but take in your own picnic as the foos is expensive and very poor quality.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Favourite Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Being from the area I visited the zoo many times when I was younger with school trips and family visits but haven't been in about 10 years.

So much has changed! I absolutely love what they've done with the space of the zoo and the enclosures are all fantastic with great viewing points. There seems to be a lot more they've done on the education side too.

It really is a whole day out there's so much to do and perfect for those with kids as its all fun!

Great in comparison to other zoos too, especially any in the South West.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“OK ZOO!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

went on a special visit to see the baby Oran Utan but was disappointed that he was asleep! Great grounds but not many animals...one elephant and two tigers is not exactly what you would expect from a zoo. Have not been there for 20 years and really has not improved that much. Zoos are supposed to be full of animals but this is not the case here at Paignton...quite an expensive day out too for a family of four!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Sorry to hear you missed out on seeing the baby orang utan. That was a shame. There is also a baby mandrill at the moment and always plenty of very young baboons to see on Baboon Rock.
Not sure why you did not see more of our animals: we have over two thousand animals, especially as next to Duchess, our elephant, are four giraffes, and right next to the two tigers are five lions. Not to mention all the gorillas right next to the orang utans! Suffice to say there are lots and lots of animals in between.
Over the last 20 years the zoo has also seen significant changes. Highlights in more recent years include the opening of Monkey Heights, the Ape Centre, the Avian Breeding Centre and Crocodile Swamp.
In regards to the admission price, year on year this is carefully budgeted and is very much in keeping with the price of other major attractions in the area. We are also a charity so all the money goes back into running the zoo and towards our global conservation projects.
Thank you very much for visiting us and for supporting our charity. Hopefully you will return the next time you are in the area and explore the zoo more extensively so that you can see just how many animals we have here.
Best wishes,
George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A really nice zoo which is well kept and there is a wide variety of animals. They are obviously very well cared for and conservation is a priority to the zoo. You can spend the whole day here as there is plenty to see. I have been to other zoos where you around half a day is enough so this was a nice change.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paignton Zoo Environmental Park also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Paignton Zoo Environmental Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.