We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TJ's Restaurant

TJ's Restaurant
44 Cliff Road, Paignton TQ4 6DL, England
01803 527389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 134 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We pride ourselves on having a unique combination of menus; with our Tapas style menu consisting of over 30 smaller portion dishes that can be ordered individually as a starter or in multiples to provide a complete meal - a very social and interactive style of dining, promoting lively debate between couples, families or groups until a compromise is reached concluding everyones preferences. This runs alongside our 'Chefs Sample Specials Menu', vastly different in content, with starters and main courses always including a succulent Steak. These frequently changing dishes focus on our chef's culinary and artistic skills creating thoughtfully flavoured and beautifully presented meals - basically Andrew is let loose to show off his passion!Lovingly prepared to order, using, as often as possible locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and vegetables.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely fab restaurant. Food out of this world, service excellent and views breathtaking over harbour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    48
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food,Great owners,Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Saturday night with my partner, to celebrate her birthday. And made the right choice of restaurant, the owners made a nice gesture by dressing our table on the terrace with birthday banners The view from our table was breathtaking on a lovely summers evening. The food was exquisite, we started with the seafood platter, which I can highly recommend, the main course was the lamb on top of couscous and sea bass on top of a sweet potato cake,the dessert was a beautiful chocolate cheesecake with clotted cream. All the food was freshly prepared and presented beautifully. the owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly, you didn't feel rushed it was nice and relaxing. The meal was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. The quality of the food could easily get a michelin star.

Karl & Vicky

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"Delicious"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Heartily recommend - Lovely meal - Splendid view - Friendly atmosphere - Chose delicious Sea Bass and wicked ..by request.. sweet ! Well worth a visit. MikeW.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value, great setting, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Balcony setting is fantastic although I would ban smoking in restaurants completely - smoke blows indoors. Having said that, what a brilliant meal. They really do fish well and can recommend pan fried stuffed squid and seafood platter unreservedly. Staff lovely, really friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and terrace views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ate at this restaurant on a lovely warm evening in July. We did not book but managed to get a table on the balcony overlooking Paignton Harbour. The view was stunning and in view of the weather it felt like we were dining in a taverna in Greece. Between 2 of us we shared 5 tapas dishes which was plentiful and delicious. The owners were very informative about the food and helped us to choose the dishes. I really enjoyed this restaurant because it had a nice exotic feel and it felt like the owners really wanted the customers to enjoy the experience. Anyone visiting Paignton should really not miss dining at this establishment

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to TJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TJ's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.