We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice way to relax for sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palace
Save
You added The Palace to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
paignton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a nice way to relax for sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i only live around the corner but i love going to the palace just for a drink or use the pool but sunday lunch is really really fab at a very good price 3courses and coffee but in lovely surroundings and a stones throw from the beach !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your Sunday lunch experience at the Palace, I was really pleased to read that you believe we offer good value for money and that you really do enjoy the ambiance at the Palace.
We look forward to welcoming you back at any time and maybe to use one of our other facilities that we offer besides Sunday lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    57
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
139
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We use the Palace Hotel as 'our local'. It is a great place for us to enjoy a drink or coffee before or afer a walk along Paignton's sea front, or for a light lunch - on our own or meeting friends - in the conservatory or outside on the terrace, weather permitting. You can't beat the Palace Hotel for their wonderful crab sandwiches, served with a side salad and tasty crisps. Similarly, they are expert in cooking fish to perfection. Friendly, well-trained staff, a genial atmosphere, spotlessly clean, attractive decor in this historic sea-front building (not fuddy-duddy but bright and modern without the period details having been ripped out), and great tea or coffee (always served with biscuits) in white china (not in nasty metal pots) ... what's not to like? One of these days we will be taking afternoon tea there. Watch this space! We can only select ratings for food, service, cleanliness and location as we have not used the Palace as an hotel, but simply as a place in which to eat and relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your very favourable feed back regarding your usage of the Palace. It is extremely pleasing to read that you feel comfortable in meeting your friends here and being able to relax, enjoy the food and generally enjoy the overall experience of what we have on offer at the Palace. We look forward to your continued enjoyment of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just come back from a 5 day break at Paignton.Everything at the Hotel was super.The variety of food was excellent all the staff very helpful.Our room was very comfortable.clean and plenty of room.We look forward to going back there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your very positive comments regarding your Turkey and Tinsel break at the Palace. It is always pleasing to read that our guests enjoy the overall experience of their stay with us and also that you intend to return in the future, I will certainly pass on your comments to the team as they are always pleased to hear their efforts have been appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed there twice now and have booked for 2013.The meals are very good and imaginitive the whole staff is polite& helpful and the ambience is perfect.Although it is classed as 3 star we believe it should be more

Room Tip: Room 55 is arguably the best room although No.54 is a close second-both are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your very positive comments regarding your stay with us at the Palace. It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of your visiting us in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

In spite of the weather being October-like we spent a happy few days staying at this hotel, with a seafront room. One of the most comfortable beds ever, just right to accommodate my 6 ft. 4 in. husband. The hotel was warm and inviting and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room with view of the pier and prom lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had sunday lunch at the Palace today..

Silver service by polte well trained staff, the food was well presented, starter, main, sweet, coffee... a good range of nicely prepared traditional english fare, the also have an a la cart menu.

If you like the finer things in life (i know I do), then you will enjoy the dining room at the Palace, a grand piano being played in the corner... the atmosphere is lovely, the decor to match takes the diner back to a better time... a real treat at especially on a sunday lunch time, we took our coffee in the conservatory overlooking the sea following the meal.... all in all a lovely dining experience, the Palace just takes it all in its stride.

Room Tip: We just went for the meal, but from what i saw it was excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have had lunch at the Palace now on three occassions, we are locals, and have been really impressed with the service, quality and value for money of the meal. If you have visitors coming to see you in Torbay you would be well advised to take them to the Palace Hotel for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Afternoon,
thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments. It is wonderful to hear that you have had lunch at the Palace on three seperate occasions and have been impressed every time with the levels of service and quality of food.
We strive to offer all of our visitors the best dining experience possible and I am delighted that you have experienced this on several occasions.
Your recommendation is most kind and I look forward to welcoming you back for many more lunches to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#4 Business Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.