We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redcliffe Lodge Hotel

Redcliffe Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Redcliffe Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Redcliffe Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Marine Drive, Paignton, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Paignton
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Spent a lovely weekend at this hotel with friends participating in a group function.. Food and service in the restaurant was very good - friendly staff who were quite happy to engage in banter and who were happy to oblige when we wanted something that wasn't strictly on the menu but could be had. Happily the hotel bar prices were similar to local pubs which I have to say were not all that good. The hotel rooms were comfortable, clean and well decorated and maintained. Some reviewers note that the decor can seem dated but the building itself is old and the layout doesn't really lend itself to being updated to a modern 'IKEA' type of decoration or furnishing. Would I stay on a future visit to Paignton - Yes!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Nice hotel, excellent location, but in winter the rooms are cold. Heating did not come on until 5.00pm. Elderly guests complained of the cold.Good food served in the restaurant and friendly staff.
During my 5 night stay the ballroom was freezing at the start of an evening and later when the room heated up due to the bodies in the room you only have the option of opening doors to cool the room down. Also make sure if with a dance group that the dance floor has been polished and cleaned after parties on previous nights have either eaten or drunk on the floor.

Wifi access only available by sitting in a chair in reception.

Nice rooms, well equipped. Just dont use more than your allocation of 2 milk cartons a day per person or you'll end up paying 5p each for more from reception!!!!!!!

If you have a room over the ballroom be aware of potential late night noise( if a function the following day due to porter banging around in the ballroom moving tables and chairs.

Have to agree with previous reviews, a hotel in a excellent location, but with no atmosphere. I asked for poached egg, bacon and tomato at breakfast - a received one rasher of bacon, an egg and one tomato all of which looked lonely on a large plate . Creme brulee at dinner had two teaspoons of "raw" demerara sugar on the top under a thin layer of caramelised sugar.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The views over the bay are beautiful from this hotel and it is within easy walking distance to the pier, arcades, train station and numerous pubs/restaurants. Paignton is a lovely place to stay but I must agree with the other reviews that staying at the redcliff lodge was like being in an old people's home. The bedroom was musky smelling and very dated but the bed was great (possibly memory foam) and the shower was also good. We did, however, return one day to find the master keys for every bedroom left in our room. Not good if you are leaving valuables. Breakfast is only served between 8 and 9 am and is not necessarily worth getting up for, small portions and anemic looking smiley face potato shape (you only get one). The older clientel seem to love it but I would avoid if you are under 50!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I have been coming to paignton with my family for a good 20 years, its always been a bit old fashioned we used to bring a caravan down but my wife is not keen on that sort of thing, but still we come down for our holidays. we have stayed at a lot of the main hotels, and thought we would try one of the smaller ones, the hotel is a bit out dated and maybe old fashioned but we had a lovely time it's right by the beach the room was very nice clean and tidy and a nice bathroom, this place has a lot of character and I would say suits most that just want a nice relaxing stay in a resealable hotel with lovely staff and great food....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

on arrival i was not given the room i requested, very small another room was offered, not much better, no atmospher at the hotel, there was a drinks bar but we recieved a frosty reception, the food was nice but very small portions, felt like i was staying at a retirement home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

The positive is that the view and location is great, on a sunny day I imagine it is one of the nices places to be in Paignton. Unfortunatly apart from the location there is not a lot going for this hotel the rooms are okay but there where problems with heating in several rooms while we were there, the shower was a lack luster , the food was pretty bad we had a couple of meals there the soup was straight of out of a heinz tin, the meat was rubbery I imangine it would be the kind of place you would see on Ramseys kitchen nightmares. Most of the vistors where fairly elderly and they didn't seem to mind the dated hotel and bad food but this hotel just does not stand up to modern hotels elsewhere around the country.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated hotel
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

Having read the last review I was unsure what to expect when I arrived, but within my first 5 minutes there I realised the other reviewer couldn't have been more wrong!

The location is fantastic based literally on the beach, and within 5 minutes walk to the central shopping area. There's even a tunnel which leads down to the beach!

The rooms were a nice size and had great views of the whole of Torbay. And I don't know what the other guy was moaning about... the breakfasts were fab, you got exactly what you wanted, and if it wasn't on the menu, the Head Waitor was always more than happy to try and help! (Thanks Joel!)

Ok, there were a few of the 'senior clientele' but there were plenty of families and younger couples to balance it out!

I'm in my early 20's and spent the Easter break there with my girlfriend. We had a fantastic time and would definately visit again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcliffe Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe Lodge Hotel

Address: 1 Marine Drive, Paignton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Redcliffe Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Redcliffe Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Lodge Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcliffe Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.