We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cherwood to your Saves list
The Cherwood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic stay in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just returned from a short break at the cerwood. Room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean plenty of tea and coffee. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful and perfect location for the beach,harbour,town and bus station. Thank you Lisa and cris for you great hospitality.
We would reccomend the zoo for a day out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 double superior,very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
59
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice Hotel, owners are very helpful, room I had was very nice and very clean, breakfast was excellent, I think it would be good for anyone i.e, holiday or business, location is excellent close to town and railway station, parking is just around the corner next road not far and they give you ticket for your stay you can unload right outside as its a loading area so you do not have a problem off loading and going to park

Room Tip: Call owners they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed in a single room at the Cherwood for a weekend in January and I would recommend the place to anyone. Chris and Lisa were warm and welcoming, my room was clean and well equipped, and the vegetarian breakfast they provided was top notch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Cherwood for a weekend away in January based on the majority of the reviews I read. The Cherwood is a lovely hotel.
Lisa and Chris were very welcoming and friendly on the arrival they showed me to my room which I was really pleased with, it was a good size room with its own en-suite and it very clean.
I then took a look around the area where there is plenty to do for all different ages. Load of place to eat out which were all reasonably priced. Great location!!! Will defiantly be coming back in the future as a lovely hotel and still got plenty more to see. They also do most amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Cherwood hotel last weekend with my wife and two children ages 4 years and 5 months. The atmosphere was very friendly Lisa and chris could not do enough for us. They accommodated for our baby with cots etc. The breakfast was one of the best I've had. There is continental as well as a full english. Both were fabulous. We have re booked for may bank holiday.
Will recommended this BNB to family and friends. :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at The Cherwood and hopefully won't be our last. We love this part of the country and this was the perfect accommodation from which to explore. The pier and two great pubs are all within walking distance. The accommodation itself was clean and clearly well maintained. Chris and Lisa were welcoming, helpful and cook a brilliant full English!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our second stay at the Cherwood, and it was a real pleasure to be staying there again. Chris and Lisa looked after us very well, making us feel very welcome and relaxed. Our room was very clean, comfortable and homely, with the full range of facilities. This time we enjoyed their bar in the evening. The Cherwood is so close to all the best parts of Paignton, that we were able to enjoy the weekend without using the car. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Different size rooms for different needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#4 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with en-suite shower room, small hotel offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges in all rooms, Ceiling Fans,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £3 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cherwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.