We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauitful Lovely Heart Warming Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cherwood to your Saves list
The Cherwood
26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
TIDWORTH
1 review
“Beauitful Lovely Heart Warming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me and my Wife and Daughter stayed at this beautiful place when we was on our holidays. We was welcomed warmly by Chris and Lisa and they couldnt of been more helpful with our selection of room, the service we recieved was of top quality, The place is so homely and we was right on the sea front and only a two minute walk from the shops. The food was lovely and was presented in a lovely way.

We will definatly stay there again and recommend this lovely Bed & Breakfast to anyone who is local or looking for a place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this bed and breakfast are top quality and of a very very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
59
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our fifth time staying at the cherwood, we had a bit of a shock when we arrived to find that pauline had sold up, and was no longer there.The new owners Chrs and Lisa are very hospitable, and friendly. The room was just the same, clean and fresh, and the breakfast was just as good, really sets you up for the day! We would recomend anybody planning to visit paignton should definately stay at the cherwood! Its not to be missed.

Room Tip: Superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

recently stayed in the cherwood hotel for a long weekend.
The room was well decorated, immaculately clean and spacious.
The breakfast was huge and consisted of everything we wanted.
Paignton is a beautifull place and we will be visiting again and again staying at the cherwwod

Room Tip: A friend of ours did stay in the superior double room and it was slightly more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Firts than all we had a great welcomed from Pauline who looked after us really well during the 3 days that we stay in Paington. She was always very helpful and making you feel like at home. Parking facilities which is a bonus. Very clean and comfortable. Nice big room. Close to the beach and all the amenities. Lovely breakfast. What else can you ask for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My mother(who is registered blind) and I spent 4 nights at The Cherwood in mid July, and it was absolutely wonderful. Pauline should also be employed by the big hotel chains to show their managers how it should be done. She is a star and nothing is too much trouble.

Our room was light, airy and spotless, with a fridge in the room that was so silent you would not have known it was on!

Having frequently sampled the revolting cold dried up buffets served in so many hotels these days, it was a real delight to get a freshly cooked hot breakfast, using local ingredients. If you go just try the kippers.The first day, feeling very hungry, we had the "Ful English"which was really excellent and nearly filled us for the rest of the day. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels across the country but this is something else, and they are not a candle on the Cherwood..Well done...

Room Tip: You won't get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Absolutely excellent. Clean and comfortable room, friendly and helpful owner and staff and enormous breakfasts. Can't praise it highly enough. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our first stay at The Cherwood, but will not be the last. Lovely family room, with walk in shower. Nothing was too much trouble for Pauline and crew - made to feel very welcome. Breakfast - well what can I say apart from we all need to go on diets after eating the best and biggest breakfasts every morning.....really does set you up for the day. Free wifi and free, secure parking. Excellent location, just a few minutes walk from seafront, cinema, shops etc. We will be back !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#5 Family Hotel in Paignton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Licensed Bar also serving Bar Snacks , All-ensuite small hotel offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Broadband, Fridges in all rooms, Ceiling Fans,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities, LCD TVs, Free Parking Nearby,Children very welcome, Dogs accepted with prior arrangment (small charge applies). 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cherwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.