We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm welcome & top quality service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashleigh Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ashleigh Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ashleigh Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
South Midlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Warm welcome & top quality service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After a lengthy, tiring but enjoyable journey I really hoped and needed to quickly check in and chill out in my pre booked room...I was greeted by proprietor Hazel who immediately made me welcome and provided me with all the important guesthouse details including where to park and more importantly; breakfast choice /timetable!
My lovely & clean, well fitted room (No 1) overlooks a tranquil park area /cricket pitch. Leading from the foyer there is a convenient veranda leading to a comfortable conservatory where folks can relax and look over the cricket ground towards the steam railway.
I ventured out into the guesthouse foyer to be met by Hazel`s partner Mick, he patiently & kindly helped me sort out with a few time sensitive & important items.
The location of the guesthouse is straightforward to find. It ensures a quiet stay and after my comfortable nights sleep I anticipated a hearty breakfast.
Mick and Hazel have their busy breakfast /dining room service very well organised and upon taking my seat Hazel then confirmed my pre ordered `full English` was on its way!
No sooner had I finished my fruit juice and cereals then it was Mick who appeared with coffee & my `full English` ......a perfect start to a long day.
After my two nights stay I was surprised how `sad` I felt checking out and leaving the Ashleigh.......wish I was staying for at least a week!...trouble is I would have put on a Stone!

Room Tip: ......no `heads-up` they`re all equally high standard & quiet .......if you do fancy overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My Dad and I decided to have a weekend break and picked Ashleigh Guesthouse after looking on the web. We wasn't disapointed. We had a lovely welcome from Mick and Hazel and they made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. The room was spotless, with a lovely view over the cricket ground to the steam railway. The breakfast was superb and set us up for the rest of the day. It really was a splendid stay and I would recommend this guesthouse. I can't wait until my next visit which will be very soon.

Room Tip: Please ignore the swimming pool rating. Clicked in error. No swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A lovely warm welcome by Mick and Hazel ensuring we were parked safely, coffee, biscuits and help with our bags. The rooms were inviting, clean and comfortable. We were greeted with a marvellous breakfast which even my fussy children raved about, in a bright and inviting dining room. Our favourites were the turkey sausages, salmon and scrambled egg, warmed croissants and the home made marmalade! Wouldn't visit Paignton without checking availability!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Everything about our stay here was good, Mick and Hazel were great hosts, lovely rooms, good choices for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble, perfectly cooked poached eggs ! perfectly situated, clean and very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Ashleigh the last 3 days in Sept. Mick and Hazel were the perfect hosts. We were met with a welcoming cuppa on arrival before being shown to our room, which was the king size room. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfortable. I thought that the little extra touches in the room, like the carafe of water next to the tea tray, and the 'necessities' box inside the wardrobe, (which incidentally, had more than enough coat hangers provided) were a lovely idea. On going down to breakfast we could choose from cereals, fruit and juices, followed by pretty much whatever combination of cooked breakfast you wanted, with stacks of toast and tea\coffee. Mick and Hazel were very knowledgeable about places of interest and info on how to get there. All in all a fantastic stay. Thanks guys

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stroud
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We read the reviews and The Ashleigh is exactly as everyone states.After three great nights there we would not stay anywhere else in Paighton. Brilliant. Do not just take my word for it, try and you will not be disappointed. We look forward to staying there again. Lorenzo and Tina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Mick and Hazel, were the best hosts, kind, warm, friendly and welcoming. nothing was too much trouble and we were treated like royalty. The room was spotless, homely and peaceful with a great view of the rugby and cricket grounds. Excellent location peaceful and quiet. The breakfasts were to die for, with a wide range and variety to choose from. I recommend this lovely home away from home to anyone.

Thanks Mick and Hazel

Room Tip: very central great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashleigh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Guesthouse

Address: 15 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian building overlooking Queens Park and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway situated close to beach,town centre,rail & bus terminals,3D cinema,pubs,resturants,harbour,boat trips,pier,children's free Geo-Park Play area,gardens,parks & coastal walks. A family run guesthouse with 9 en-suite bedrooms consisting of 1 single,2 twin, 3 doubles and 3 king rooms each having hospitality trays,flat screen tv with free-view,small fridge,fan,free WiFi,hair drier, towels and complimentry toiletries. Award winning breakfast is included in the price and a wide choice is offered on the menu. Limited free private parking at rear of property with free on street parking available.Mick and Hazel offer you a very warm welcome, a friendly and homely atmosphere and a nice cup of tea/coffee on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Ashleigh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Guesthouse Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashleigh Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.