We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Edmunds Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Edmunds Guest House to your Saves list
St Edmunds Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Sands Road | Devon, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay with lots of nice touches such as a bowl of sweeties in the room & coffee & homemade cupcake on arrival. Very good value & would definitely stay here again. Very handy for the cinema, the town & a seafront stroll.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Thank you Tony & Jill for your warmth and kindness, from our arrival to our departure staying at St Edmunds was a real pleasure. Our room was spacious clean and tidy, there had been great attention to detail and this is the difference between good and excellent. Our breakfast was of ample proportion well cooked and served to us by the ever friendly Tony, both he and Jill though busy,always had time to listen to how your day went. We had one of Jill's excellent dinners, and if you can, you must try some of her lemon merengue pie !!!!!! It's to die for. On departure we were waved good bye at the door, something new for us. St Edmunds is in a great location convenient for all Paignton has to offer. Keep it up Guy's you, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We had room 3 ground floor, very roomy, quiet, warm, comfy bed 6ft wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

just spent two nights here. jill and tony gives you a good wellcome. the bedroom was spotlussand there was little things in it that you would fined in a 5star hotel. the bed was so nice you did not wont to get up lol. the food was the best iv had eny were.so overall id say for the price you cant beet it here.and if have dog they are welcome as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was a LOVELY place to stay!
Such a warm welcome - a cup of coffee and a home-made cup cake. Tony and Jill were most excellent hosts. I had a really pretty little bedroom, with so many little extras - toiletries even included a sewing kit and mini toothpaste, and the tea tray had about six different hot drinks, biscuits, and a bowl of sweets, I felt really spoilt! Very comfortable bed.
A peaceful, sunny house with a welcoming, happy atmosphere. Ideal location - the beach is literally 2 minutes walk down the road.
Fabulous hot breakfast with a big choice of cooked items. Scrambled egg especially good!
Really friendly hosts. I accidentally locked myself out of my room (by leaving the key inside) at 10.30pm and rang their bell for help with some trepidation... but Tony and Jill were absolutely fine about it and let me back in with a laugh and a smile. What more can I say?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the best Guest Houses we have stayed at. Jill and Tony are so pleasant and friendly and find time to chat with you over a cuppa when you arrive. We had a lovely clean and spotless room and the breakfast is first class. St Edmunds Guest House is just a few minutes' walk to the sea front or into the town and parking is again just perfect. We would highly recommend this lovely guest house and it is a credit to the lovely couple who run it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. I would recommend the place highly. Tony and Jill are very friendly and the food is great. We had a lovely chat about all kinds of things and soon felt as though we'd known them for a long time. The guest house is dog friendly and we found that very useful, There were other guests with dogs as well as us, but there didn't appear to be any problems. We'll definitely go back when next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been travelling in the UK on business for the past 2 weeks and keep coming back to Jill & Tony at St. Edmunds. It's a wonderful guest house in a great location and spotless clean. A delicious freshly cooked breakfast sets up the day. Jill & Tony are warm, welcoming and most helpful. This is the only place to stay in Paignton. I will definitely be back with my wife for a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Edmunds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Edmunds Guest House

Address: 25 Sands Road | Devon, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Edmunds Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Edmunds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Edmunds Guest House Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Edmunds Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.