We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Thai & a Warm Welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmine Thai

Jasmine Thai
Winner Street, Paignton TQ3 3BW, England
01803 556656 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Devon, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai & a Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having spent quite sometime in Thailand we entered this place with not very high expectations. But needed somewhere to meet a friend and grab some food.

The staff are very welcoming and like to joke with you and the food was very good. The setting is Thai with loads of nick-nacks here and there.

Overall i would recommend it - especially in Paignton with it's lack of "healthy" places to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well worth the ferry ticket and petrol there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My aprtner have started to use the Jasmine as one of our regular stops for both eat in and take way. The Ladies that run the place are excellent and the food is spot on !. BYO is a great option to have, i hope to take all my staff over for feed as a xmas treat. (plenty of seating for couple and groups). The ca reccommend from the menu most things. The Pad Thai and Curries are flavoursome and rich. if you catch it right you can pick some bits from across the road where the asian supermarket have most buits you need to make similar dishes. Well Done Jasmines...we'll be back soon !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went early evening about 7pm, not many customers, service was very efficient, my food came within about 10 minutes, only had the main course, with rice. The food was good but a bit bland and not very large portion and rice was just a cup, not enough. So it was quite expensive at £10 for a meal that did not fill me up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Always an excellent choice - great food, good value and friendly service. It's take your own alcohol so this helps keep it very low price for a night out. Small place and the kitchen is open - you can see the one cook working her socks off. There is sometimes a wait for food When itt's busy but it is well worth it. Booking essential, even on weeknights. Good for take out too. Im a little reluctant to write this review as I don't want to find it even more difficult to get a table but it deserves it's 5* review.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Needs a good fan extractor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

My partner & I went here for an early dinner on the recommendation of TA.

Open kitchen, friendly staff & lovely food.

Excellent value for money - But, the open kitchen desperately needs a new extractor. The smell and smoke from the cooking made me feel physically sick & caused us to rush our meal.

Left to meet friends smelling like an old chip pan, not good, as such I couldn't reccomend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine Thai also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Jasmine Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmine Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.