We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! We wish we could bring them home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himal Tandoori

Himal Tandoori
330 Torquay Rd | Preston, Paignton TQ3 2DZ, England
+(44)01803524959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 134 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepali, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Winner 2012 and 2013 trip advisor customer excellence award and winner 2012 and 2013 just-eat tried and tasted award.Family owned business since 2006. Started as a Take-away but with huge demand of the locals we opened our door as a Fully Licensed restaurant on september 12th 2008.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! We wish we could bring them home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and i visited paignton november 2012 for his birthday. as his favourite food is indian i decided to take a look on here to see if i could find a good rated indian restaurant that was local to us to try out. On reading reviews we decided here is where we would try. On arrival to the restaurant i must admit i was a little disappointed, it really doesnt look fantastic. But please ignore the view, get yourselves straight inside and just rate the food. It is worth it! Absolutely fantastic in every way. My partner eats only spicy food and opted for a chicken tikka masala but vindaloo hot. In most restaurants this comes out tasting purely of vindaloo curry powder, but not in here. The chef took his time to make it the way it should be, with herbs and spices. And i have never heard him praise a meal so much ever! It was perfect. If you like onion, the bhajis are to die for! And everything is a very reasonable price. I was very impressed with my visit to this restaurant. The chef made extra effort to come out of the kitchen and ask us personally if everything was ok with our meal which i thought was excellent customer service! We would love to bring himal tandoori to a town near to us, lovely!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so very much for the review and glad to know that your partner praised about the meal he had here. sorry about the outside look and i'm still not interested on renovating which cost lot of money to do that rather i will focus more on the quality of the food and service. I try to come out on each and every table when time permits and funny enough some time I text from the kitchen if I am really busy and if i know one of my regular customer having meal in the restaurant and i response to all the trip advisor review whether its good or bad. Nice to have one more happy customer even from far away knowing that they will definitely come to us again on their next visit. Thanks again and see you next time.cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    24
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Not as good as reviews suggest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

After reading the rave reviews we decided to give it a try. The bhajis as previously reviewed were excellent it that was the highlight of the meal. The sauces of the curries we had were good but left terrible aftertastes. The main disappointment was the quality and quality of the meat we had which was not generous and in thin strips and the lamb was fatty. When we told he chef he said it would be better next time but as far as the meal goes we would not return. We miss cilantro and much prefer Ganges and cannot understand the other reviews as this place was only average and the tablecloth we had was stained with rice from a previous diner on it and the whole place lacked quality. However the place has a loyal following so perhaps it was not to our tastes. It is useful to know that you can BYO bit you pay £2 per person corkage.
Overall I would say it was ok but we would not go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for the review. Sad to know that you were not that happy. I remember we did had a brief chat about the meal. first thing first you did say the lamb was fatty, but the curry you had was a curry with coconut cream and coconut milk and mustard which could be fatty. we hardly get any complaint about our lamb and honetly speaking we are very popular for our lamb dish and secondly we our portion is bigger compare to other restaurant in area, matter fact customer actually compalin about our portion being huge. As you are a very genuin reviewer i would call this a personal taste bud. You did mention about cilantro and 99% of my customer says the food is good out there but portion are very small for the price they charge and often customer go home hungry paying the over priced meal. as you say on the review we do have our regulars who's been coming to us for the last 6 years and i've won the customer excellence award 2012 tripadvisor and tried and tasted award 2012 from just eat. and I'm sorry to say that my restaurant meal is not up to your taste bud. Thank you for the review again. cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Returned with friends for double birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Another great dining experience at this lovely restaurant. The owner is a most charming and polite host, the chef a spice-genius. Without doubt the best onion bhaji ever to pass
the lips of all in our party. Our whole meal was a delight ,every dish was shared and found delicious. Will be returning often as you can't get too much of a good thing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Special Thanks for the second review and thank you for coming again with your friends for the double birthday bash and glad everybody enjoyed the meal. Like the compliment of yours saying spice genius really means a lot to me. hope to see more and more of your friends and family again for another nice meal at our establishment. Thank you again and see you soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful food fantastic service!! Nothing was too much trouble. Can't fault it. Will certainly be going back on our next holiday!!

Thank you!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
thank you very much for the review and hope to see you again. we do our level best to please all our customer and glad you felt the way it should be. see you in future. cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exquisite curry, fantastic service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I've just had an excellent meal at this establishment. I am visiting the area from Birmingham and thought I would try this based on recommendations on this site. Very glad that I did. Onion bhaji starter was perfect and the pathia main course was one of the nicest I've tasted. Highly recommend this restaraunt if you are in the area and looking for an excellent Indian meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so very much for the review, every time customer from Birmingham gives us the review that's an added bonus for us. I'm glad and felt very special that you said you had one of the nicest pathia. hope you come and see us again when you are in paignton. Thank you again and cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himal Tandoori also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Himal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himal Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.