We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine, decent value at lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Magic Bowl - CLOSED

The Magic Bowl
68 Victoria St, Paignton, England
+44 1803 666678
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,077 reviews 1,077 reviews
584 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
3,928 helpful votes 3,928 helpful votes
“Food fine, decent value at lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited on the £3.50 lunch deal - the food was fine, nothing special, but for the price you can't complain. There's a choice of around 8 starters and mains I'd estimate (although you might want to choose rice as your starter if you're opting for a traditional main like sweet and sour chicken). I went for the BBQ spare ribs and Chicken Noodle - the ribs were fine, the sauce a bit overpowering though. The Noodles were nice; a traditional chow mein dish, it could have been a little warmer though. My dining companion had the prawn toast (good) and chicken rice (fine).

The service was OK although the place was a little dirty. Overall I would return for the £3.50 lunch but it didn't wow us enough to return for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well i can hand on heart say that was the WORST chinese i've ever had :( The chow mein was very dry & tasteless (not to mention COLD) spring rolls completely in-edible urgh! watery sauce on the hong kong chicken & the chicken foo yong was absolute soggy rubbish, tasteless eggs, not even sure that WAS chicken ? i left most of it :( & the FREE (with over £15 spend) prawn crackers taste like yesterdays! (prob were hence the 'free' bit.... certainly WONT be ordering here again nor listening to reviews! not to mention got ripped off £3 delivery charge we are LESS than 3 miles away & never even mentioned a charge when i enquired about delivery. NOT IMPRESSED, very lucky i'm not demanding they collect it & give me a refund. absolute disgusting food never ever again :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great Value - £11.95 for as many dishes off the menu as you wanted. Be warned portion sizes are huge and they do make a £3 charge if you waste lots of food.
The food we chose was fresh, well cooked and delicious, could have just ate starters all night.
TIP - Order starters first and then order you main courses after you have eaten them -

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“second time round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

second time round at this place ! the first time we visted this restaurant was back in july of this year they had re-decorated so it was much nicer this time round , we had the all you can eat for £11.90 each which was good, food was very nice but to much for 2 people ! they must do this on purpose as we did not order so much as we had learnt our lession last time but still it was a small mountain !! but really you can knock the place for value and service ! can they didn't have the christmas music on

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton Devon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bountiful and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We dined here last week and partook of the all you can eat buffet meal at £11.50 each. What we didnt bargain on was the size of the portions, they were big. The all you can eat buffet is better suited to groups of 4 or more where you have a dish each and try some of each. For 2 people it is really too much to eat. The decor lets the place down as it is more of a lorry cafe than a restaurant, with paper table cloths and signs on the windows. The service however was excellent as was the food. We would definately recommend our guests to eat here as it is a very reasonable price and they do takeaway food and deliveries.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic Bowl also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magic Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.