We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkey and tinsel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Save
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list
2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Turkey and tinsel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have just returned from the Marine,we are full of praise of the hotel and staff,the premises was decorated for the occasion.We had terrible weather for the weekend but the staff and entertainment certainly brightened up our stay.The service of the staff was excellent and the chef s choice was also excellent served hot and plentiful.When leaving our coach had to travel around the block and when we passed the front of the hotel the staff were on the front waving us off,that was a nice touch.Looking forward to returning to the hotel next year.Brenda and Tony H

Room Tip: Room 407 overlooked a quiet park,no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. Turkey and Tinsel time is keeping us very busy, we are pleased to hear that our team continue to provide a high standard of service. It is always a pleasure to look after a full hotel of lively guests, who are full to the brim with Christmas spirit. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our second visit to the marine and we weren't disappointed. Couldn't fault anything, room wonderful, staff on top form with their cheerfulness and service and food faultless - compliments to the chef. Third trip definitely on the cards !

Room Tip: Won't go wrong with rooms 311 and 312, seaviews excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to us and already thinking about a 3rd visit. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again a most memorable stay. This time it was our 30th wedding anniversary, a special occasion and a most special stay. Room was fantastic, will request it again in the future, food excellent as always, staff exceptional, what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thankyou for posting a review for us. It was a pleasure that we could play a small part in helping you to celebrate such a special day. We look forward to welcoming you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

came home yesterday after 3 day stay. i was extremely impressed , food, staff , cleanliness were more than words can say, everything was first class, normally out of everything there is usually something not up to scratch but i could not fault anything. the managers were very hands on and the staff obviously enjoy working for them ., we will definatly go to stay again.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thankyou for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will return to see us with Brent Thomas coaches again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This medium sized hotel is very reasonably priced and the staff and service were excellent during our recent stay.

The food (range and quality) were better than expected.

We have no hesitation in recommending it. Mabel and Arthur Longmore.

Room Tip: Sea rooms are favourite - good view and well insulated by good double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thankyou for posting a review, it is much appreciated. We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We will look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford shropshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My disabled wife and I have this afternoon returned home after a 4 day short break at the Marine Hotel.
The hotel was better than most of the 4 star hotels we have stayed at around the world. Everything about it was first class. The large ground floor suite we were offered at standard charge and room facilities were of the highest standards.
The freshly cooked food was of the best and as the menu was of regular British dishes it was all the more enjoyable to my wife and I.
I have saved my best praise for the staff. Easily the best and most friendly that I have ever encountered anywhere, and we have travelled throughout the world. My wife because of her medical problems requires many needs, the staff answered every and each request with smiles,help and advice.
Well done to all a really first class experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thankyou for your very kind review, it is most appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I can't understand why this hotel is only `Two Star` rated after speanding a wonderful week there in July..
The staff and food were first class and nothing was too much trouble.
The evening entertainment was first class as well and everything was a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thankyou for your review, it is most appreciated. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations of a 2 star hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#4 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Business Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.