We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commodore

Save Saved
You added The Commodore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Commodore
14 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

just got back from a 4 day stay at the commodore wanted to break our journey home from a holiday in cornwall we first booked two days we were made to feel so welcome and our dog who was given a doggy bag containing a sheet for the bed food bowles two towels the room was called sir francis drake fab sea view very clean cumfy bed well decorated good size bathroom fab shower food was spot on good quality well cooked by stuart we booked another two days when we arrived we were met by katrina who made us feel at home straight away they are a lovely couple who work hard and do there best to make your stay enjoyable we have allready booked our room for our next stay.

Room Tip: take a sea view if possable both as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
68
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Holidaying in S. Devon, our motorhome needed repair to the clutch and we suddenly required overnight accommodation in Paignton. We chose the Commodore because (a) dogs are welcomed and (b) the hotel is on the seafront. We couldn't have made a better choice.
Our first-floor en-suite room was clean and very comfortable and we were provided with a "doggy bag" containing a sleeping mat, 2 food bowls and 2 towels for our border collie. Breakfast was super and set us up for the day. We were also invited to leave our bags until our vehicle was ready for collection later that afternoon, which was a great help and much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in Paignton over the weekend for the Torbay Half Marathon and had pre-booked our stay at the Commodore some months earlier. We have been visiting Paignton over the last 5 years and without doubt this is the best B & B we have stayed in and it also represented very good value for money. It is set back from the sea front and adjacent main road so we got a good night's sleep and woke up to a superb sea view from our room. It is in a prime location for the shops and promenade as well as the start of the half marathon. Our room was very clean and nicely furbished and the whole place had a welcoming ambiance throughout with a nice little bar on the ground floor should you fancy a night cap! We felt we had known the owners Stuart and Katrina for years and they are the perfect hosts. Katrina even got us an early light breakfast on the morning of the race which was appreciated. However, we had the full English on the next morning which is described as 'hearty' on the menu and it certainly lived up to it's title! Great tasty produce and nicely cooked. We highly recommend the Commodore and will definitely be staying there again whenever we visit Paignton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We wanted somewhere close but not to close to the shops, pubs and restaurants, and the Bike Fest on the sea front and you cannot get better than the Commodore, less than 5 minutes walk to all of the above but no noise at night so a good nights sleep was had in the large bed!
On arrival the warmest welcome greeted us, the room was very well presented with great view to sea. The room had a 'tender love and care' upgrade during the winter so was of the highest standard which I'm sure will be maintained throughout the season (You can feel the pride and passion of Katrina and Stuart in their Hotel).
A perfect English Breakfast with all the options is provide each morning to set you up for your day out.
Highly recommended if you are looking for a warm friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea views are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I had a long weekend here and enjoyed every minute of it. Katrina and Stuart treat you more like friends than customers. Recently renovated room was clean and tidy with a lovely sea view. Breakfast is to die for. One of those places that you want to return to time and time again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just spent the weekend in Paignton & stayed at the Commodore, when we arrived we were met by Katrina with a most friendly welcome,our room was beautiful and to the highest standard, we had a lovely seaview from our window,our breakfast cooked by Stuart was perfect,We will be definitely going back there, and would recommend it to anyone that is looking to book in at a B&B,Thankyou Stuart & Katrina for making our weekend such a pleasure from Beryl & Dave

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I found The Commodore via a Google search. I needed a Dog Friendly B&B as a base to visit friends. I booked last Oct 2012.
We are arrived at 2pm on the Friday. We were greeted by Katrina who was very friendly and bubbly. We took Charlie our Cocker in at the sametime. It was clear to see what a good choice I had chosen a good place to stay.
We checked in and was handed a "Doggy Bag" it contained 2 bowels (Water/food) a couple of towels and a cover to place over the bed. I had brought this all with me but know for next time!
We stayed in the Sir Francis Drake room. Everything was clean and tidy. We had a sea view which was great. The bathroom had just finished being refurbished, we were the first people to use it. I love hot showers and that's one shower I didn't want to get out of!
I have a back problem so a good bed is very important to me. We took our Tempeur pillows and I can honestly say I slept very, very well indeed on both nights!
Even though we were on the 3rd floor we could smell the waft of bacon! So off to breakfast we went. Katrina came and took our order. Stuart cooked a very lovely mouthwatering breakfast. I have to have a Wheat Free diet and Katrina was very happy to cook me toast with my bread.
Katrina and Stuart asked us if we would mind if they joined us for breakfast, we said of course you can! We had great conversations! It's safe to say we will be back and hopefully the weather be better next time! But of course that's not Katrina and Stuarts fault!
So thank you guys for a very happy stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: 14 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Great to Stay and Play in the UK if you are staying at The Commodore, Paignton, devon. We are a traditional family-run seafront B&B offering guest accommodation all year. The beach is just across the road, as is the 3D cinema, Pirate Bay crazy golf and the new Geo-Play park which is free and the kids love it. We welcome families with children and dogs and our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and relaxing as possible. 4 of our rooms have uninterrupted sea views across Paignton Green to Torquay and Brixham. The location is excellent with bus, coach, railway stations, the town and the harbour ferry services just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commodore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.