We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So let down by the little things :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ambassador to your Saves list
The Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So let down by the little things :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Things started off great so will start with the good points. Location is great, hotel is clean, breakfast is nice and as we have to visit Paignton a good few times a year to see family we really thought we had found a place to visit very regularly .

On arrival there was no milk in the room which was perfectly ok, just asked for some more...
Later this evening we all fancied a cup of tea , my two children also and asked for a couple for tea bags... Fine
The next day we returned in the evening from a day out with our 3 small kiddies and asked for a couple more tea bags, we were given two and quite rudely told that we could not have any more.... Now I don't know about you but I enjoy the small things in life like a cup of tea and a biccie before bed then a nice coffee to wake me up in the morning. As we weren't Allowed anymore my hubby had to go out at 9 in the evening and buy some... To add to this is was a sweltering july day so we really needed a drink or two and with 3 children under the age of 5 it's not like you can stay out late and tend to spend a bit more time in your room. I mean how much does a few tea bags and sachets of sugar cost? You can get them in pound land!
Having children of their own you would think they would understand things like this.... Having a nice cup of tea once you have got the kiddies to sleep is a small thing that parents enjoy. It was a bit like being told off for being greedy which I don't believe asking for a few extra condiments is. After all we did pay £85 a night and as as a frequent traveller through my job in the travel industry and visiting family I can honestly say in all the years of visiting b&bs, hotels and guesthouses we have never ever come across this before.
Such a shame how one thing can put you off :-(


Due to this we won't be returning which is a real shame as we were actually going to re book for may, July and oct 2013 when we visit our family and recommend to family too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. If we may address your comments:

We have no policy of rationing tea bags for our guests and provide adequate supplies in bedrooms and more on request.

Your room had been provided with extra additional supplies on the second day in anticipation you would request more.

You actually requested additional tea at 10.30 at night not around 9 p.m as stated.

I believe you were informed tea was complimentary not you couldn't have any more.

As a 4 star guesthouse we are unable to use tea bags from Poundland and have to be more selective in our choice of supplier to achieve accreditation.

At £85 a night in a family room for 5 people including breakfast you were in fact in receipt of a very good deal. I would urge you to compare similar properties at peak season if you dispute this.

It is such a shame you let two tea bags spoil your holiday and hope your children enjoyed the complimentary rock we gave them on departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
75
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Can't praise the Ambassador highly enough. Yvonne and mark were very welcoming lovely people and the breakfasts were fabulous. Great room never slept so good and location is close to everything we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It may have been the rainiest and wettest weather possible, but that didn't lessen the pleasure of staying at Mark and Yvonne's beautiful place.

They have obviously put a lot of effort and love into renovating this place. The decoration is worthy of a boutique hotel, but it's combined with the kind of welcome and personal service you'll only find at the best B&Bs and Guest Houses.

As other's have mentioned, the breakfast is worthy of a special mention. A great choice and well prepared and presented. Given the weather, we were tempted not to leave.

I'd stay again anytime, and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the Ambassador on a recent trip to my birth place, the beautiful Torbay.

The room was large, clean and well decorated. Felt very welcome and the breakfast was amazing.

Good location and a good size guest house. The place is well looked after as we were during our stay.

If you're looking for someone to stay in Torbay I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your review and constructive comments. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time while revisiting your birthplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Ambassador and could not have asked for a more warm, friendly and comfortable place to stay. Mark and Yvonne made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, with the perfect balance of hospitality and privacy they are a credit to their industry. Although the rooms are not huge the still manage to feel spacious and are spotlessly clean. The location is perfect, just a 2 minute walk from the beach and harbour, a great base for exploring south devon. For me though I must say what topped it off was the fantastic breakfasts which I will miss. All in all a really excellent place to stay and I would highly recommend it. 

Paul & Maisie - Kent

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. Your kind comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a very pleasant weekend stay here. Whilst not overlooking the seafront, it is very well situated for the front and all amenities. As previous reviewers have indicated, the beds are certainly very comfortable indeed, we slept brilliantly! Bathroom was a little on the small side but there were nice thick shower towels and a good stock of toiletries. There was a wide choice for breakfast and the service was very friendly. We managed to park on the front of the property but couldn't quite see how there could be enough parking if all guests brought a car (and there were a lot of double yellow lines nearby). We would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and for your constructive comments. We have provided parking for all our 6 rooms but admittedly it can depend on car size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having found the Ambassador by accident last September for a four night stay and been impressed by the warm welcome, the clean and well provided room and the generosity of the very well cooked breakfast together with the just about perfect location close to the Rail Station and the Beach and Harbour and on a relatively quiet road I decided to spend a week there this year. Mark and Yvonne could not have more friendly and solicitous of my well-being which is important when one is advancing in years! There is a real family atmosphere in the house which makes their tariff seem ridiculously cheap for the wealth of friendship they offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
A pleasure to have you stay with us again and delighted to hear you enjoyed your week stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to South Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador

Address: 23 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small recommended 4 star guesthouse close to all amenities and beach. An ideal location to explore all Torbay and South Devon have to offer. Family run with comfortable, well maintained and clean en-suite rooms. Free car parking available to guests and free wifi throughout the property. Hearty breakfast included with traditional, continental or alternatives like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Larger superior doubles available for longer stays and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.