We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well established, good food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights

Harbour Lights
Paignton Harbour, Paignton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 132 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: $37 - $46
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well established, good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The restaurant is a beautiful old building situated in Paignton Harbour. The tables are well spaced out and when you book the table is yours for the night.

The menu choice, although mainly seafood (obviously) was varied with a mix of retro and modern traditional meals.

The service was amazingly fast. Generally this is not an issue for me as I like the conversation between courses, but we just hung around after the meal instead.

Was slightly expensive for the area but it would be a great place to go for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    25
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice decor and ambiance, the staff were attentive and friendly. The menu was varied with a good fish section as you would expect. The meals were well presented an good portions but not as flavoursome as we expected. Good place for couples or small group of friends to meet up and have a meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Harbour service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My second visit here, but will be my last. The place is lovely, the food excellent but management should look at the work force. We had a lovely eastern European waitress who was run off her feet whilst management stood around at the door wattching. This is old style work ways. Door staff should double up as waiting staff during peak times. I felt sorry for the waitress who was doing very well trying to please everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another of Paigntons gems. We were advised to book this restaurant, as it got very busy and we were glad we did. The food was excellent and we ended up eating here every night of our stay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For a nice night out with your wife and family or a romantic dinner for 2, this is one of our favourite places to eat, you get good food excellent service and really good menu choices. Well worth a visit and worth pushing the boat out for.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.