We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up and smell the Pesto!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Luigis Ltd

Papa Luigis Ltd
Wigan Lane, Wigan WN1 1JP, England (Formerly Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant)
01942 231558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 212 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
1 review
“Wake up and smell the Pesto!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing meal overall. Even though I showed an interest in what i was ordering and asked the Manager about the dish before I ordered it, this interest must never have been pasted to the kitchen as the quality of the product produced was poor. There is a reason why this place is middle of the table on the reviews, because that is what it is! And the chef pleading with a dissatisfied guest to give the place another try is not the way to receive return trade, it needs to be right first time. Focus or disappear!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    13
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Had such a good time when we visited last week, food was lovely, cooked to perfection. Couldn't fault the service, waitress that served us was very helpful and catered to all our needs, made us feel very welcome. Will be coming back for more very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Table was ready, when we walked in (but it was 6pm) Friday night.
Garlic bread with cheese, very good, starter mushrooms, very small (asda smart price style) burned and fused to dish, msin meal was fine chicken in mushrooms, sweet, strawberry cheesecake, (very small piece for £4.95. sorry biscuit base was stale, told the waitress who just said she would knock it off the bill, didnt offer me an alternative, no offers for coffee's, not the nice atmosphere you normally get in an Italian, I'm not one for composing over much, but your a long way off getting it right guys, the only way this place will survive is because its on Wigan lane.


  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lost it's mojo!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When we heard this was being re-opened again as Papa Luigi's we got quite excited and booked a meal for a Friday evening the same week as the excellent advert in the local paper. We used to love Papa's @ Euxton and Wigan and loved their special Tortellini Bascaola!! They were back and local again yippee!!. On arrival, little disapponted with the decor but hey!!.early days and the food which we have missed will soon bring about a welcome distraction. Sad to say, the food was very lack lustre and quite plain and quite expensive. £68 for two people(starters x 2, mains x 2, sweet x 1 and small glasses of wine x 2) There are far too many tables crammed in and you can hear everyones conversations as you are SO close to other diners.
Not to be too deterred and maybe when they are more established, we will revisit and give it a 2nd chance but not for a while and maybe back to Euxton to restore our 'Papa' faith - more comfortable and relaxing (subtly lit)environment with room to keep your conversation personal!!. Sorry (Andrew House)Wigan, you have lost your 'Papa' mojo-hope you find it again real soon!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Second time since it re-opened that we have been to PAPA LUIGIS (formally Giuseppe's) on Wigan lane what a transformation, food on both occasions was excellent, staff very friendly and efficient and lovely and clean (including the toilets) couldn't fault it one bit, we will certainly be going again and will surely recommend it to all our friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Luigis Ltd also viewed

Chorley, Lancashire
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Papa Luigis Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Luigis Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.