We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Moor Restaurant

High Moor Restaurant
8 High Moor Lane | Wrightington, Wigan WN6 9QA, England
+44 (0)1257 252364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 237 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $60 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The High Moor Restaurant is situated in the lush Lancashire countryside town of Wrightington, with an enviable reputation for superb food, outstanding wines and genuine hospitality.The High Moor Restaurant is situated in the lush Lancashire countryside town of Wrightington, with an enviable reputation for superb food, outstanding wines and genuine hospitality. A Lancashire Life 'Restaurant of the Year', The High Moor has awards and nominations for the quality and value of its wines and food, offering menus that incorporate the best of traditional British cuisine, with a modern twist and a hint of international flavour.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were really looking forward to trying this restaurant after reading all the great reviews but we are disappointed!

We both had the scallops which were served on little black puddings. The scallops were good quality but they were drowned in plain boring olive oil. Really made the dish average.

I had the duck for the main course. The meat was good quality but the sauce had no flavour, it was such a dissapointment.

My husband had the lamb which again was good quality but the sauce was tasteless.

Both dishes served with broccoli, carrots and cauliflower which was boring and a bit old fashioned.

Such a shame as they had quality ingredients but with little imagination.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    27
    27
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Been here several times and have always been very happy and left glowing reviews. However our most recent visit was really disappointing and I'm not sure we will return again now.

The Ham Terrine which is usually delicious was sloppy and tasteless, the Duck with beetroot and cherries was also pretty tasteless and measly. Three halves of new potatoes with it and some broccoli, cauliflower and carrot to go with it (which I thought personally was the wrong choice of veg to match) My husband had the pork, which was also tasteless! It just felt like we were eating bland food in a nursing home.

Usually you're able to have some privacy and don't get mithered, but tonight we were sat in the most awful spot right near the door where the staff congregate before they come in and out. It was very uncomfortable having six staff at a time stood right next to you watching when they were waiting to serve someone.

I think High moor had it's peak some time ago. I hope it picks up again but I am afraid I don't think I will be going back to find out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality location and excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dined mid week, and chose from the 2course fixed price menu £ 15.95. As usual the staff were pleasant, efficient and attentive. Nice choice of starters, and main meals, from the menu. Portions just right, and superbly presented. If you want a massive plate full then go to Witherspoons, but it won't taste like the high moor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, excellent ambiance, great staff but the food was very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Polly and I ate here on a sweltering Friday evening in July.

We both ordered exactly the same starter and main course !! Ham Hock and Chicken Terrine followed by the Neck of Lamb (the house speciality). The starter was utterly bland. Lots of clear jelly but alas little flavour. The lamb that followed was of better quality but was slightly over cooked and as a result a little dry. We'd ordered tempura onion rings which were very nice but I was made slightly queasy at the large pool of oil left behind in the serving bowl. A piece of kitchen roll / napkin might have saved this experience.

All in all we were very disappointed. We've eaten here before and enjoyed the experience. It'll be a while and a lot of positive reviews from fellow diners before we give it another try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Superb yet again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have visited the High Moor on several occasions and have never had cause to complain.My daughter, her husband, the better half and myself chose the 7th July as it was the nearest Sunday to the 10th which is the anniversary of when they had their wedding reception here 3 years ago and none of us were disappointed. As usual the staff were very attentive but the food was better than ever, we opted for the 3 courses for £20, each of us having different ones so we could try them all and we couldn't decide who had chosen the best as they were all exceptional. At the end we were STUFFED but we were stuffed with top quality food and, for us,the best yet, we had no complaints yet again and for 20 quid had a superb meal, superb views and reminders of the night 3 years ago which made a beautiful wedding PERFECT. Thanks to all at the High Moor, keep up the good work and we'll see you next year, well before then as we can't wait that long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Moor Restaurant also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to High Moor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Moor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.