We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South
53 Warrington Road | Ashton-in-Makerfield, Wigan WN4 9PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Wigan
somerset
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay, was greeted with a warm hello and welcome. The member of staff told us about the facilities and offered to book us an evening meal at the a joining pub/restaurant to ensure we got a table as it was always busy on a Saturday night.
We also asked for the loan of an extension lead which she promptly found.
Excellent night sleep and would recommend the hotel, my only reason for not giving top marks was that all the smokers gathered by the front door at all hours and did wake me up at 5.45am, felt a smoking shed away from the main building would be more appropriate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
27
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Premiere Inn is a really good one. We stayed over for a staff Christmas Party at Haydock Races. Reception staff very friendly and the pub next door is well run too. It's positioned on the busy East Lancs Road so not many places to go within walking distance. However is a great choice for an overnight on business or for the HAydock Races.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

If your looking for a day out with the Lads at Haydock Park Races. Then this is the place to stay.
The Hotel is clean, good friendly staff. The Pub attached serves great food, especially breakfast with a pint. Only 15 minutes walk to the Racecourse Stands, so plenty of time to meander back after the last race. Quick bite to eat, shower, change and 10 minutes walk in to the Town of Ashton in Makerfield, set up for a full on night out till 3am. (Well the younger ones did) The locals love a party night out, so it would have been rude not to join in.

Room Tip: At the time we booked, a Twin room was the same price as booking 2 singles. So if your mate snores g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great spot right next to the race course. Handy for the M6 and nearby Ashton

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

GOOD: Room lovely and big - huge bed - everything clean and tidy. Very good black-out curtains - very quiet rooms with no noise from neighbours - No complaints.

BAD: We had a drink in the bar of the pub and were close to the toilets. I don`t know why but we kept getting horrendous smells wafting from the lavs. Very off-putting!

UGLY: Having stayed at about 15 or more Premier Inns over the last year or so I have always rated the buffet breakfast. £7.99 is great value and service is (almost) always excellent.
However, this breakfast was the worst I have had for many years. Sausages were tough and tasted awful(can`t describe why but they just weren`t right). The chap on the next table left his too and said they were awful. Scambled egg was the consistency of porridge, the mushrooms tasted like they had been boiled for a week then tossed in old engine oil.
Now to the bacon. Well....what can I say. I`m not exagerrating when I say that it tasted like it had been removed from the packaging, dropped into a bowl of warm water for 20 seconds then thrown onto the plate from 30 yards.
The bottom of the plate was swimming in some sort of juice. I needed a snorkel to eat the meal.
The only good part was the tomato which had been grilled well enough.
I happened to stay at another Premier Inn elsewhere the night after and deliberately avoided the breakfast just in case.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room(22 we had)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We always use premier inns for visiting friends in wigan and bury. Room was clean and the bed was huge. Very sparse on milk,tea and coffee but was advised to ask at reception. we asked our friends to meet us for a meal in the pub attached to the inn. If you are not that hungery than great as we were starving and waited 1hr 30mins to eat our main course. We also noticed people turning away from the bar as the staff were very stretched. i would not like to see wjhat the really busy times turn out like.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night (23rd September 2011) for our visit to the races at Haydock Park. We arrived at 11.30 am, well before check-in time, and the friendly receptionist immediately checked housekeeping to confirm that our room was ready which it was. The room was large with a very large bed, which later proved to be very comfortable, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean (although I am not sure about the corporate colours being taken as far as purple grouting!). Value-wise, I think £100 for the room was a bit steep, but presumably this was because it was the races weekend. The pub attached was a bit of a let down. The staff were very keen to point out that the pub and hotel were due to close on 27th Sept. for a refurbishment. However, I really don't think that is a good enough reason for having no tonic water or a shortage of glasses, brandy served in a half pint glass anyone? They also used the refurbishment excuse for a limited choice of cereal at breakfast. Even so breakfast was excellent and served by a friendly waitress. There is no doubt the pub is badly in need of refurbishment and when it opens again mid-october it should be really good. There was one blot on an otherwise excellent stay. From 11.00 pm the door to the rooms is locked and one has to ring the bell to be let in by a night porter, no problem there. However, at 5.30 am, a young lad who had obviously had a good night was banging on the window of his room below ours to try to wake his mate (who had obviously had a more boozy night) to let him in. When I told him to call the night porter he said he had tried but he couldn't raise him. This was true as the porter was nowwhere to be seen when I went down to the entrance. Besides the annoyance factor of someone persistently banging on the windows/doors, there is a genuine safety/security concern if the night porter cannot be found. The receptionist on check-out was apologetic but I didn't get the impression that they were too concerned by the apparent disappearance of their porter. Having said all that, we would stay at Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South

Address: 53 Warrington Road | Ashton-in-Makerfield, Wigan WN4 9PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Haydock Park - Wigan South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.