We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haigh Hall Country Park

Haigh Hall Country Park
Copperas Lane, Wigan WN2 1PE, England
(01942) 832895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Wigan
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely walk out with the family
Beautiful gardens, clean and fresh playground suitible for small children.
Walkways suitable for walkers, kids on bikes, dog walkers
There is a small train and mini golf, though the few times ive been they havent been in operation

Lovely cafe with hot and cold foods/drinks
Gift shop is lovely

They do run a Bonfire Night extravaganza which you can pre-book tickets through the website or by phone and its a brilliant night out - with rides and food e.t.c

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good day out with the children. Take a picnic on a nice day
There are attractions like a miniture railway, but some of there items have now closed
They do hold various events there inc rock concerts

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“great outdoor fun (free) with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we go here a couple of times a month. Our son loves doing his own 'nature trail' through the woods and looking at the animals. Plenty of outdoor space to run around and kick a ball about. Cafe is really good and very reasonable as is the sweet shop which we always visit.
We have had the carvery sunday lunch, gorgeous. We spend many hours here especially in summer when we take a picnic and make the most of the outdoors.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dogs love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is my dogs favorite place in Wigan,plenty of space to run about and chase the squirrels! My nephew loves the play area near the main hall and my husband rates the golf course as good. If you are visiting Wigan it a nice family afternoon out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great park for going for walks & nature trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good sized national park with a well matured golf course.
Some great walks through it's grounds which are ancient. There is a working miniture railway here & a good visitors centre with regular kids activities organised. The hall is open at certain times for visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haigh Hall Country Park also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Haigh Hall Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haigh Hall Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.