We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant
Ashfield Park Dr | Standish, Wigan WN6 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Wigan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
merseyside/basingstoke
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We attended a wedding reception here (03/10) and it was honestly the best wedding we have been to! Beautiful venue, good bar prices and gorgeous rooms!
Thank you for a wonderful evening and giving mr & mrs platt a beautiful day! X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for your review! Glad you mentioned the bar prices, we are indeed very reasonable (in line with local pubs) and this is not something we will ever change as we strongly believe wedding guests should to be taken advantage of at the bar! Thanks again, Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are considering getting married here then do it...book it RIGHT now!!!
We got married here on 3rd August 2013 and the day was absolutely perfect! I am one of these people who have to check every little detail so was in constant contact with Ashfield House with questions and asking for advice, they helped so much and were always very quick to reply to my e-mails.
On the day the staff could not do enough for us and the guests, everything I had given to them to layout for the ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening they did, so perfectly I was in amazement, they did us so proud. Huge thank you to Carol who was our master of ceremonies throughout the day she did so well and was able to get the attention of our guests (not easy!)
I have since had raving reviews about the food for both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet (we had chicken and light buffet supper.) It was extremely yummy and piping hot was the main feedback!
The bridal suite was amazing and so comfortable, the only bit of slightly negative feedback I had was that some of the rooms were extremely hot and there were only a limited amount of fans available but this was only on one side of the hotel (I think near the kitchen which is expected) but what do people expect from an old house!?
On the whole absolutely amazing and wish I could repay Ashfield for such a truly amazing day!!
See you soon for yummy Sunday Lunch and on our anniversary next year :)
Mr and Mrs Platt xx

Room Tip: The bridal suite is AMAZING!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Laura, Thanks for your kind words and taking the time to leave a review during what must be a busy time for you!

We are only a small team here but we are always on hand to answer queries however small! We are pretty good at setting up weddings I must say, we are a bunch of perfectionists and we just love to get it setup perfectly for our brides and grooms.

Thanks for the food compliments and Carol will be made up you mentioned her personally!

Sorry about the hot bedrooms, although i'm sure given the choice again you would opt for lovely sunny weather for your wedding!

Congratulations and hope to see you again for lunch, Katie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law got married here yesterday (3rd August). Thank you to all the hotel staff and management who went out of their way to make this their perfect day. The food was excellent, the Langtree looked stunning for both the ceremony and the wedding breakfast. Thank you so much for all your hard work.
P.S. The hotel room was okay as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, I will pass them onto the rest of my team. We work hard to give our brides and grooms the perfect wedding day and its nice to know it pays off!

Thank you for your comments about our food, we pride ourselves on excellent homemade, fresh, well presented and piping hot food at our functions and we do receive an awful lot of compliments about it.

We hope to see you and your newly merged family here perhaps for a Christmas celebration? Katie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely building, re furbed ground floor to an ok standard, bedroom standards of cleanliness shocking, hair in the bath, toothpaste on the taps and sink, bedroom carpet not hoovered and cobwebs in the bathroom !. Yet thet go to the bother of leaving complimentary biscuits and a kettle, but no cups !. Really uncomfortable bed, staff put rubbish out in the bins outside, gossip and have a cigarette, very noisy !

No room service, food available at the bar, no staff, had to call for help. Breakfast, no knives or butter ??, table cloths stained.

When checking out receptionist didnt even ask if I had a pleasent stay !!!.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money, book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience here at Ashfield. I have looked into your booking and I am sorry to say that you were checked into a room which had not been serviced and I must apologise profusely for this. We have an exemplary hygeine rating of 5* out of 5* and this is reflected in our rooms, once serviced our rooms are cleaned to a high standard but unfortunatley you were checked into the wrong room. I will make sure this does not happen again.

I have changed our staff smoking area so it does not interfere with guests but I am sorry you had to hear this. We were busy with a function on the evening of your stay and our bar staff were covering both bars hence needing to ask for service but you were served immediately upon request. We have undergone some breakfast training as some new staff were not up to scratch.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I can assure you it has brought about some positive changes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A spur-of-the-moment choice, as it was talked up so well ('Ashfield Country House Hotel'). Anyway, who could resist the chance of lodging in a refurbished Gothic estate house once visited by Gladstone, no less.
Today its once-spacious policies are built over and it lies almost lost down a cul-de-sac amidst layers of more recent building. Nevertheless the building's former Victorian stolidity impresses, and nowhere more so than the interior. Formerly the offices of the local Urban District Council - a sure guarantee of significant levels of architectural abuse - it has been lavished with money, and a degree of sensitivity to present a passable representation of its period. The public rooms are alarmingly spacious and grand, and in the bedroom we were given, one could have swung several cats tied together.
Sadly, here the good times ended. We had arrived as a funeral party was just leaving, and the interior had a hollow air about it. Two lads we took from their dress to be 'clearer-uppers' were rolling the makeshift table tops away, and we commandeered one to sign us in. The floor of the room we were given seemed not to have been vaccumed since Gladstone picked up his bag and left. It contained nested within, the usual 'Bathroom Box' clumsily inserted within its spaciousness, and, to accommodate a couple of wall switches, the double bed had been bumped up close to the wall, with no space for a bedside table with lamp and making access near-impossible. Nary a picture of Victorian 'Sweetness and Light' or a dour-faced Will staring down to relieve the walls, and certainly no nod of respect in the repro furniture to its former period splendour.
We had arrived on a day when only bar evening meals were provided, and chose a safe fish and 'hand-made chips'. The chips were stunningly good; the fish proved to be tiny, little fingertip sized pieces, lying at the heart of huge meteorite's of brown batter which exuded a continuous stream of clear runny liquid when pressured; the peas were cold. We could not eat it and so sent it back. The lad who brought them was apologetic, and returned with the offer of a glass of wine, but with little will now left we retreated up the rather grand staircase.
Breakfast was a more hearty affair; Continental but what a decidedly good choice on offer - croissants, cereals, grapefruit and orange, yoghurt choice a fruit bowl and toast. The nice 'young John Lydon' who attended could not have been more helpful, and caring of our well-being.
On signing out, the sending back of our supper the evening before had clearly not made it to the final bill. But all was soon sorted and off we drove, successfully negotiating the maze to its rim and so off on the road ahead.
How disappointing. This hotel has so much potential to succeed and live up to the fine literature it puts out. But to do so its anonymous owners need to be present, and much more hands-on involvement in beefing up the bits that would get it right;on the human resources side, serious investment in customer-care training, attention to dress presentation, a house-manager fiercely overseeing cleaning staff, - and always, service, service, service. And on property management, a good bit of tweaking to underpin its Victorian strengths - sourcing inexpensive furniture, carpets and pictures more appropriate to its period from sale-rooms.
If the snapshot that we encountered is a true representation of its day to day operations, some radical intervention is required for it to be here in two years time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadviser, I am please to hear you were impressed with our building and decor. We are currently undergoing a renovation of the ground floor and landscaping in the gardens so it will be even nicer very soon.

I am sorry about your evening meal being disappointing, it is not our usual standard I can assure you (another reviewer here raved about the fish and chips not long back). The head chef assures me this will not happen again.

We are a family run business and it was me who checked you out in the morning. We are investing substantially in the hotel and continue to be popular in particular for weddings which will only grow once our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel was booked at last moment via hotel search website. Room & Continental Breakfast for £40.00 meant I was not expecting much. Hotel seems to be set in the middle of a housing estate so sign on main road was very useful. Car park was full as there was a conference on.
Hotel appears to be an old country house and has been converted into a small country style hotel. Business appears to be geared around around the weekend since Restaurant Menu was very limited - 4 choices and all very basic. I had the Homemade Fish & Chips which was very fresh with hand made chips.
Room was of an excellent size with both a double and a single bed. TV was quite small given size of room - I just pulled sofa over to TV.
For £40.00 you really would be struggling to get a much better deal. Certainly more than acceptable for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are accessed via a residential street off Wigan Lane but once you reach us you will find extensive private grounds and beautiful views over the Douglas Valley. Hope to see you again soon, Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel from the reviews on trip adviser, but did not check out the hotels own web site, (big mistake). Where I would of found out that there is no restaurant facilities in the early part of the week, so we had to go out to get a meal, and breakfast only came in continental form, with a slice of toast on the side.
The rooms were comfortable, though fittings in the bathroom have seen better days. I discovered a screw in the floor boards in the bedroom was proud fof the floor, which I am glad I found whilst wearing shoes and not walking in bare feet.
So maybe a better hotel for weekends and a wedding venue

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfieldHouse-Katie, Owner at Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed about the restaurant being closed during your visit, most of the week we offer a bar menu and Friday & Saturday evenings an a-la-carte menu. I'm also sorry you found a screw under the carpet - this was quite a shock to us and we rectified this as soon as it was mentioned but apologies nontheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ashfield Park Dr | Standish, Wigan WN6 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1755 Ashfield House is an elegant English Country House standing in its own landscaped grounds and overlooking the Douglas Valley. We host exclusive weddings, functions and conferences in style and also have a first class restaurant Sunday Lunch. The original sweeping staircase, beautiful bay windows, ornate columns and panelled library bar create a special atmosphere that is quite unique. We are 5 minutes from the M6 motorway but you will feel the peace and quiet of a country manor house. All of our ground floor areas are disabled access friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel And Restaurant
Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant Wigan, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashfield House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.