We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller & Carter

Miller & Carter
Parbold Hill | Parbold, Wigan WN8 7TG, England
01257 462318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 212 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Serving up its painstakingly sourced menu of succulent steak dishes, Miller & Carter is devoted to all things beef. Alongside delicious cuts from the grill, the diverse menu includes build-your-own burgers, market-fresh fish dishes and a range of tempting nibbles. Chilled draught beers, cooling cocktails and an extensive list of tipples are found behind the bar, or guests can choose from the well-stocked wine cellar.
1 review
“Great food, great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing! I have never tasted steak as good. As for the portion sizes some reviews say that they was small portions.. Well ares wern't! The steak filled the plate so we didnt have any room to put other things on. As for dessert oh my.. The dessert was sooooo good! All food was really well presented and the service was great! Would highly recommend miller and carter and we will deffo be going back!

Dont understand how this restuarant can be given such low reviews! Small portions pfftt what nonsense!

One word- FABULOUS!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    83
    39
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit, everyone in our group of 7 agreed it was one of the best steaks ww could remember . A few have already been back. Great atmosphere , cocktails , log fires and to top it service .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't order the Eton Mess.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visited The Wiggin Tree on Parbold Hill for my birthday meal.We omitted starters and,after the main course,which was passable ,I ordered the Eton Mess dessert as it was my special birthday treat,on Sunday 20th January.All I got was a bowlful of cream,containing one tiny sliver of meringue and a few berries.After digging around in it,searching unsuccessfully for meringue,I left it and when the waitress asked had I finished I told her my opinion.I was still charged full price for the Mess.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday night we ordered chateaubriand and asked for it rare ( as recommended by the chef) unfortunately the chef didn't know how to cook it rare, it was more raw and freezing cold! Waitress told us that's how it was meant to be cooked, which is not true! After a discussion of her telling us it was meant to be cold we asked for fillet instead, if what she's saying is true (which it werent) oh and the 'steak house' had ran out of fillet so we had to have our original steak cooked a little longer. Food came out fine even though we were then brought the wrong sauces to go with our steak! After finishing our meal we overheard a table order 4/5 fillet steaks which the same waitress took the order, we pulled her up about it but there wasn't much she could say, we would of appreciated her not lying to us. We were expected to pay full price and no apology came, bad food and bad service!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Flatters to deceive ......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I hadn't been to the Wiggin Tree for years and so was totally impressed at its most recent reincarnation as Miller and Carter. The overall impression internally is of a big city swish restaurant. It's really very tastefully decorated and furnished in a modern style that wouldn't be out of place in a big Californian city such as San Diego or San Francisco. The atmosphere is chilled and very acceptable indeed. But oh, if only you could eat all of that because that's where the good news ends. The menu is pretty small and basic.....I thought oh well since there's not a lot on the menu then what there is will be done well.......not so. I ordered a porterhouse steak..the menu recommends it being served medium rare and so I went with the menu. What I got was a blue steak and after having been returned to the kitchen for a 2nd go and still being asked to eat a blue steak I gave up on it. Our waiter handled the issue well and we weren't charged but nonetheless a steakhouse that can't cook steak???
Polly had chicken which was ok.....just ok.

I'd put the food here in a par with what you receive at a premier inn or a little chef. The place has a lovely feel to it but if you enjoy your food don't go with too high expectations

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Miller & Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller & Carter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.