We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit still great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Door Bistro

Red Door Bistro
1 College Avenue | off Library Street, Wigan, England
+44 1942 820484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 212 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Our second visit still great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Love this little place hidden off the bust King Street bar area on a small narrow cobbled street easy to miss.
This visit november was better than the first...what amazes me the chef cooks in a very small kitchen and still manages to produce excellent meals delivered quickly. As we sat down I noted a table of 8/10 females and thought i will be waiting ages...i need not have been worried as Jayn the owwner and sole chef delivered a excellent starter scewered chicken garlick which was moist and ever so tasty, main was rib eye steak which i enjoyed with a bottle of chilled moet excellent value £35 a bottle.
If this place was in Manchester city centre or off a side street it would be packed out every night..why Wigan wont wake up and enjoy this wonderful place is beyond me half empty which is a crime as the food is that good. Eaten steaks like I have said at Ruth Chris in toronto cooked in butter which was 300 canadian dollars this place is the cost of two mc meals for three courses needless to say you will have difficulty eating all 3 courses oh and the apple pie was divine served with cream, she had home made ice cream which was also very good.
wish i lived nearer as a long distance from my home but always worth th travel as I know I am guaranteed an excellent meal...come on Wigan folk wake up eat at the red door as it would be a shame if you lost it

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDoorBistroWigan, Manager at Red Door Bistro, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thankyou for visiting us again and your fantastic review. It was lovely to see you both again. I hope next time you visit we can achieve the same high standards you have come to expect form our little bistro. Thank you form all at Red door x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    15
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st visit but won't be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went with my daughter and family for the 1st time, the service was very good indeed with a genuine feel to the always asked question " is everything alright" The food was truly excellent on all courses and I have already asked friends from out of town to come over just so I can once again enjoy a relaxed evening of 1st class food.
Thanks again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDoorBistroWigan, Manager at Red Door Bistro, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Red Door Bistro and your review was lovely! It really does mean alot to all of us here. Thankyou and we hope to see you all again soon.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancs
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - not for Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a fantastic meal here with some of the best food I've had in a while. We were let down by another restaurant and booked very last minute, but they were able to fit us in for an early meal at 6pm on a Friday as we have two young children. I mentioned this when I phoned to book, but it was only when we arrived that we discovered they had no high chairs. (Perhaps I am too used to being catered for as a family and should possibly have asked specifically about highchair). The waitress was really helpful and as they don't have a childrens option, so she gave us a few choices the chef could do for my little boy. We'd also mentioned when we booked it was for a birthday, and it was a sweet touch that they had a helium balloon on our table. The food took longer to arrive than I was expecting, but good things come to those who wait. Again, this isn't conducive with children, so bear this in mind, although all food is freshly cooked.
I would definitely go here again, but will get a baby sitter. I'd also like to try the lunch menu at some point.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDoorBistroWigan, Manager at Red Door Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thankyou gingerbumbebee for your review. I am so pleased you all enjoyed your time here at Red Door.
I have took your comments on board regarding the high chairs and passed on to everyone to mention this when customers are making a booking. Thankyou once again from all at Red Door and we look forward to seeing you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
2 reviews
“1st Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just enjoyed a wonderful dining experience at the Red Door Bistro. The food was quite simply the best I have tasted in a long while. The service was friendly and efficient. The bistro is small but cosy. Would recommend a visit, you will not be disappointed. This was a first visit, will not be the last.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDoorBistroWigan, Manager at Red Door Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We at Red Door are so pleased you enjoyed your first time here and hope we see you all again soon. Best wishes froma all at Red Door x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great food and great service at a small but cozy and freindly family run restaraunt we will be going back and recommend to anyone, had tapas which was excellent

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedDoorBistroWigan, Owner at Red Door Bistro, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Donna and Jamie.
I am so pleased you both enjoyed your evening here at Red Door Bistro. Thankyou for your comments and thank you for the recommendations. We hope to see you both again soon. Jayne and all at Red Door x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Door Bistro also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Door Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Door Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.