We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best indians in the Wigan area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivaj Restaurant

Rivaj Restaurant
278 Mossy Lea Road, Wigan, England
01257 42 66 48
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 212 Restaurants in Wigan
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best indians in the Wigan area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The food and service at the Rivaj is second to none. I have never had a bad meal at the restaurant and never had a bad takeaway either. The restaurant itself is very tastefully decorated inside and very warm and welcoming. The food choices on the menu are not the usual run of the mill curry's you find in most Indians, although they do have all the usual dishes, they also have a wide range of specialty dishes to try and I like that. I like to try new things and be pleasantly surprised and the Rivaj delivers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, high quality indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Consistently good quality, fresh food. Chef's specialities are good. Sometimes have to wait, but I find that reassuring - means it's not all microwaved! Staff are helpful and efficient. Very good for take-away too

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food, attentive and knowledgable staff and great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice, almost simple interiors, not overloaded with artificial exotics. Extremly efficient staff, forthcoming. Special orders accepted and delivered with a smile. Innovative drinks and delicious food. Definitely recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value and delicious indian food - definately recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We tried this restaurant after several people had recommended it to me. It was a saturday night and the special menu of 3 courses for £8.95 pp was available until 7pm. This was excellent value for money and the food was delicious. This consisted of popadoms, starters, main with a side. We both really enjoyed the fresh high quality food and will definately be going back! Cant understand why it wasn't busier on a Saturday night, I think as the place was previously a pub some may not realise it has changed hands and it now one of the best indians in the area. They also do takeaways which we had previously tried a few weeks before and again was delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Food and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Can't fault the food - it's lovely and they do a takeaway service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivaj Restaurant also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rivaj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivaj Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.