We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Wigan
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“all inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very good Hotel ,walking distance from Wigan town.We stayed all inc.special deal 2 nights ,2 dinners;2 breakfasts;2 lunches;.Beer and Wine free after 7 pm.We had 5 guests join us for one dinner and the extra charge worked our about £10. per guest.Room very good with large kingsize bed.Staff very good ,the Restaurant Manager[Portugese]very good sense of humour.He remembered us from a visit 1 year ago.Free wifi.Good base for shopping in Wigan.Cost us £168.00 2 pers.1 room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you in particular for your comments regarding our staff and restaurant Manager, Franco. I will personally ensure that they receive a copy of your wonderful comments.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Wigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    140
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
32
103
25
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Yorks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Being in the ' budget hotel' price bracket I wasn't expecting very much, but was pleasantly surprised.
Easy to find (if you read the hotel's web-site) a good (free) car-park, but close to the centre of town. Decent sized and clean room and bathroom -with a bath and soap/shampoo etc provided; controllable heating, big multi-channel TV- with a remote that has a working battery!
Staff were all pleasant and efficient -and available. Breakfast was good too; sausages which tasted of sausage!, real mushrooms (not those tinned tasteless ones) and a cafetiere of coffee. The chef had actually made an effort!
If your going to the DW stadium it is a fair walk -about 25mins; OK if it's not raining.
Difficult to think of any niggles -the only problem I had was with the swipe card -which way round should it go? Maybe an arrow??
In conclusion, it is good value; in most towns this hotel would be charging around £120 per night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always welcome guest comments and it is great to know when someone has enjoyed their stay. I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the food and service you received and I have passed a copy of your comments to all departments.
I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Breakfast staff need to buck up. They were friendly tbh but talking to each across the room over guests is not how it should be done. I asked for a couple of fried eggs that were chucked at me while I was waiting for toast. I then had to soak up all the oil with a serviette. I waited for 10 minutes before I got some coffee. Small things but these make the difference. Very clean hotel and comfortable rooms. Good location for Wigan centre.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you found the service in the restaurant not your expectations. I do apologise for this as we normally receive excellent feedback. I will be bringing your comments to the attention of the restaurant manager and staff to ensure that we do not receive comments of this nature in the future.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, overall, and hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

my husband booked this hotel, we were going to stay for three night but whilst there we decied we wanted to stay for an extra night. The young lady who we saw regularly on reception was very helpful and friendly and sorted the room out easily. The room was very compfortable and clean and the bed well can you let me know the rating of the matress please as it was very nice to sleep on.we will certainly stay there again when up north.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your wonderful comments. I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. The mattress used on our beds are orthopaedic standard – if you would like to know more information about this, please contact me directly and I will be happy to give you more information.

Everyone at the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

on our recent overnight stops at the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel we found the staff of this hotel to be kind considerate and efficient, the superior rooms we had were clean comfortable and cosy the meals were tasty and well cooked with a good selection. we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel for a stop over or a longer stay Mr Mrs r Chaplain and Miss Condra Kerr

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you especially for your kind comments regarding the staff, as customer care is always so important to us.

I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper and Head Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had to book this hotel at short notice to attend a family funeral. Check-in, check-out were smooth, the room was quiet without being overheated we overlooked the main road but there was no disturbance from traffic. Access was also good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Please accept my condolences on your loss. I was very pleased to read that you found your stay comfortable and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We couldnt fault this hotel, was here for a short break booked through travel zoo. Great value all inclusive deal, which the mercure hotel chain sometimes have advertised on thier own website. We paid aprox £85.00 each, for that we got bed,huge breakfast, lunch, 2 course evening meal, free drinks after 7.00pm which included red, white wine and lager so we was very happy. With the option of an early check in and late check out, and free tea and coffee all day, it is the best value for money break ever. The price was for 2 nights.
The food at the wigan hotel is outstanding huge breakfast cooked to perfection, we chose homemade fish and chips for lunch, and only just had room for our 2 course evening meal, which was superb. The food is always piping hot, tasty and plentyful.
Staff was really helpfull and friendly, beds are huge and very comfy, rooms are spotlessly clean
Just cannot fault it.
There are loads of shops 5 min walk from the hotel so it is very central. Brilliant break, we have been to a few of the mercure hotels they are all really good, sometimes we had been upgraded to a suite, instead of a double room which was lovely. But the one thing i will remember about the mercure hotel wigan is the food, brilliant,compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We constantly make every effort to ensure that each and every guest's stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible so everyone here was delighted to read your wonderful comments.

We hope that you will choose the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel for your next visit to Wigan and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Wigan for business, taking in a game of Rugby or football or simply a relaxing weekend away, The Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel will make you feel right at home with its welcoming atmosphere and first-class cuisine and if you are a golfer, you'll be in seventh heaven too as we've negotiated preferential rates on the 9 and 18 hole courses at Haigh Hall Golf Complex. The hotel offers free parking and free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.