We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food come here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dicconson Arms

Dicconson Arms
206 Appley Lane North, Appley Bridge | Appley Bridge, Wigan, Wigan WN6 9DY, England
01257 252733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 213 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food come here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

OMG the food served here is divine. If I was asked where and what my last meal would be it would be here.
I have eaten here on a few occasions now and the quality is first class. Above average price though so worth it. If you want a special meal go here. If you want a good meal at a good price go here. They have set menu 12.95 that is exceptional for what you get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have eaten at The Dicconson Arms on several occasions and never been disappointed, the service is friendly and efficient with the menu being supplemented by a fantastic selection of specials with the emphasis on locally sourced fish and seafood. An absolute gem of an establishment with a good selection of cask ales and a decent wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visted here on Saturday for lunch...

The restaurant was spotlessly clean (water glasses on the table sparkled) and Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was delicious. Slightly more expensive than other Pubs, but definately worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have eaten here many times before so thought we should post a review.
The food is always well cooked and seasoned and very, very tasty. The menu is what you would expect of a good pub with a few surprises thrown in. The specials board always features plenty of fish which is something that we like to see. They really know how to cook a steak at this place and for that reason this is one of our favourite places to go when we want one.
Make sure you leave room for a pudding because they are nearly always exceptional.

Out of all the times we have been here (about a dozen) I have only once had one course that was disappointing. I should say that this was not due to the quality of the food but just that I though I would be getting chocolate pudding and when it arrived it was a white chocolate pudding which I would not normally order. Saying that I still ate it as it was rather nice, just not what I wanted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Went for a lunch on a Sunday with some friends, we were slightly skeptic due to the pub look but once we were showed to our table in the restaurant and a quick look at the menu we knew we were in for a good meal. Food was good and freshly cooked and pleasant staff and all without breaking the bank...bonus!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dicconson Arms also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Dicconson Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dicconson Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.