We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral View Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral View Town House
Save
You added Cathedral View Town House to your Saves list
212 Gilesgate, Durham DH1 1QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Durham B&B and Inns
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while visiting family and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and cosy and had everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent probably the best I have ever had. Jim and Karen were also very welcoming and helpful. We were sad to have to leave and would definately come back and visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, Owner at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Jen
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that Mark has made a full recovery from his late night watching the golf on T.V.
Best wishes
Karen and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    34
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
123
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Chose this accommodation after reading favourable reviews on trip advisor. We were certainly not disappointed as the standard of the accommodation and breakfast were excellent. We would recommend the Cathedral View wholeheartedly and should add that it is less than a 10 minute walk into Durham Centre. Perfect spot for sightseeing from and amazing views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, Owner at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Helen and Oliver
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write and pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that Spring weather has now arrived in Greetham.
Best wishes
Karen and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I did a road trip for a couple weeks in Scotland and Englad. This was a great find!
The room was up 3 flights stairs but was very comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was roomy and water pressure was very good. Wifi worked fine with good bandwidth. Owner was very efficient and friendly. He checked us in and was available but did not intrude.
The breakfast was probably the best home cooked quality breakfast we had in our travels. Home made bread, croissants, preserves. Choice of several excellent breakfasts all made to order. Just outstanding way to start the day.
The location was very close (5min walk) to the cathedral complex and shops.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, Owner at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Richard and Barbara
We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.
Best wishes
Karen and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Karen & Jim are excellent hosts and proud of their quality B&B - this reflects in the high standards of furnishing and cleanliness in our room/bathroom and in the breakfast menu where you are spoilt for choice. The food is well presented using quality ingredients from local trusted suppliers.

We had four excellent nights over Easter and spent time in the lounge perusing the catalogue of peoples comments on local restaurants Karen encourages you to add to if you wish, or the information leaflets and books Jim produces with a flourish when you tell him over breakfast where you are headed the next day!

Short evening walks to one of the 6 or so local restaurants on the road or on into the city centre which is only 15 minutes or so away on foot where there is a further multitude of dining choices means Cathedral view is ideally located and parking made easy with provision of pre-paid vouchers thoughtfully given as required by our pleasant hosts. We look forward to another stay at Cathedral View.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms with the Cathedral view you'll be on the quieter back of the house rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, General Manager at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Paul, Becky and Mum
Thank you for your generous praise and we're pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
If the blockbuster we devised the storyline for gets written, don't forget my royalties!
Regards
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very comfortable, warm place to stay. Lovely guest lounge with complementary glass of sherry, which was a real treat! Lots of guide books available for the city and surrounding area. But the thing that really sets this place apart is the choices for breakfast - a great range of cooked options, and a wonderful cold buffet as well. Great views from the garden at the back over the city, and in warmer weather this would also be a good place to sit out with that glass of sherry! Hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful. About a 15 minute walk to the Cathedral and Castle area.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the house will give you views across the valley to the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, Owner at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Maureen
Many thanks for writing and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Durham to celebrate Ray's birthday.
Best wishes
Karen and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from a mini-break in Durham, where we stayed at this great, extremely well located B&B. The host couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room was lovely and warm on arrival, everything was clean and modern (loved the bathroom) and there was lots of room. The lounge was very welcoming, with a fire always going. And the breakfasts, as everyone else has said, were fabulous - fresh fruit, homemade bread, and everything cooked to order.

Durham is a lovely town, and Cathedral House added to our experience. We would recommend it to anyone visiting here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, Owner at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Liz and Roy
Many thanks for your generous praise and for taking the trouble to write.
Best wishes
Karen and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and clean, while the bathroom was spotless and spacious. The bed and breakfast was about a 15 minute walk to the centre (uphill on the way back) and there was metered parking across the street (for which we were given a parking permit). The breakfast was amazing. A great amount of choice (from traditional English to poached egg and smoked salmon) and absolutely delicious, especially the homemade marmalade! And the host was a delight. He even made a point to address us by name whenever he saw us and remember facts about us - small touch but meant a lot!

The only thing to be aware of is the number of stairs between the entrance and some of the rooms - it wasn't a problem for us, but might be for some. Also, the bed was comfortable but slightly small and the sign for the B&B was a small brass footplate on the door, so it took a minute or 2 to locate. Despite these minor inconveniences (if you can even call them that), I would definitely recommend the B&B and would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedralview, Owner at Cathedral View Town House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Courtney and Simon
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending the archaeology conference at Durham university. Thank you for your kind review.
Best wishes
Karen and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral View Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View Town House

Address: 212 Gilesgate, Durham DH1 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Town House Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral View Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.