We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent gym, very basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bannatyne Hotel Durham to your Saves list
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent gym, very basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

A long wait in reception only to be given a filthy unserviced room followed by another lengthy wait in reception to get my room changed was not the best start to my stay. However, if like me, you choose this hotel because you wish to use the well equipped gym then it is perfectly adequate, the poor start aside. For the price, my replacement room was very clean and pleasant, the beds are comfy and you don't hear a lot of people banging around. There is no on-site restaurant as such and you have to get in your car and go exploring to find a decent meal nearby. Overall, decent value given the price but don't expect too much for £55.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Richard W

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently whist visiting Durham. Your positive comments have been well received.

I apologise for the mix up with your room allocation when you checked into the Hotel. This administration error should not have occurred.

I am happy to read that you were very happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and that you enjoyed the complimentary use of the Health Clubs facilities. If staying again why not try the Café Bar in the Health Club for your meals.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    96
    43
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
93
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently stayed one night (31.JUL) during a business trip to the North East. Similar in style to a good Travelodge or Premier Inn.
All the basics plus key benefits to me as a business traveller such as free (high speed) wifi in the room and free on-site parking.
Nice flat screen TV with freeview channels - tea and coffee facilities in the room. Decent soundproofing from the traffic noise - not so great within hotel from other guests bedrooms and the corridors.
Free use of gym / pool etc if keen adjacent in the Health Club - plus this is where a limited menu for dinner / breakfast is available.
Limited other options for food in the immediate vicinity. An idea would be for hotel management to partner with a food delivery service from local restaurants. Overall a good choice for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear MySuitecase

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your pleasing comments. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I am very happy that you have chosen to mention the many benefits of staying with us at Bannatyne Hotel Durham where quality accommodation is offered at great value prices.

Looking forward to meeting with you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

For a one night stay at this budget hotel I was impressed. Wi-Fi in room, King size bed, Walk in shower, flat screen TV and most important feature for me - soft closing doors, which reduces door slamming. However, I was disappointed to be able to hear other guests walking about in the room above and also being able to hear bathroom noises. The carpets throughout the hotel were in dire need of replacing. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. Great location , off the A1M and just a short taxi ride into Durham city centre. You also have free use of the gym and facilities next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room at the front of the hotel. You can here the road from the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear ChesireKaza

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your pleasing comments. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities.

Your comment regarding soft closing doors is well received as we do try to maintain these on a regular basis. The corridor carpet condition has been noted.

Hope to see you again soon. Why not try purchasing a breakfast on your next visit as they are extremely good value.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Staff where very friendly. Rooms are very basic, wife wanted a shower and as there was no shower cap I went down to reception to ask if any were available, a polite no was given. I think this is the 1st hotel I been in that did not supply them. No problem this is just a way of explaining how basic it was. Next day we went out for the day when we got back around 4pm we found our room had not been cleaned when we asked why, and was told that we need to request the room to be tidied, a couple next to us told as that they had had their room cleaned and they had not had to ask for it to be done. Room was very warm and as there was no fan we open the windows, the hotel backs onto the motorway and this was very noisy so beware if you are a light sleeper. Having the sports club next door was a bonus. Would I stay there again, sorry to say Duncan but no is the answer.

Room Tip: take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Johnwb10860

Thank you for choosing to stay at Bannatyne Hotel during your recent visit to Durham and for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your recent stay.

I will pass on your suggestion regarding rooms having shower caps as we are always trying to improve the service that we offer our guests.

Regarding your comment about your room not being cleaned I have spoken with the house keeper and she has confirmed that your room was serviced accordingly for a staying guest. Previous comments placed on Tripadvisor do state that one of the benefits of using Bannatyne Hotel Durham is due to the high standard of cleanliness.

I am aware that you stayed in room 19, and I have personally checked this for noise from the motorway during the night and found there to be minimal disruption. This room is favorable for regular guests as it at the far end of the Hotel and away from the motorway.

As the Hotel is not air conditioned we do offer fans and they are available from reception on request.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne And Wear, Uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here while some major refurb work was done on our house and it was really good.

Very modern, very clean, very quiet and friendly staff. loads of parking.

Free use of gym which is a full scale members gym that was there before the hotel. Not a scabby room with a treadmill in it like some places.

It was only about £45 per night for a family room. Pizzahut, kfc, tescos and other restaurants within half a mile and just outside of Durham on a main bus route.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Scott-Adele-Megane

Thank you for choosing to stay at Bannatyne Hotel during recent refurb work to your house and for taking the time to provide a really positive review.

Your warm comments are greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Great value, if you like travel lodge style rooms plus free access to gym, pool, sauna and steam room.

When we arrived receptionist was very helpful and polite.

Got to the room, which was clean, but basic. The large mirror had a crack in it. The room size was average but there was only two of us.

Double bed was two singles pushed together and was not very comfortable (softish mattress).

Lamp on table near mirror did not work and main light bulb flickered.

Shower was very good, no water spillage onto bathroom floor. No bath. Bathroom itself very small. Two people could not be in there at the same time.

Our room was cleaned and fresh towels provided on day 2, but we did over hear a couple complaining at about 3pm that their room had not been done yet. The receptionist just blamed the housekeepers and didn't even apologise. (different girl to who we checked in with).

Didn't bother with breakfast as very expensive. There's a tesco 2 mins away with a cafe.

Overall, average hotel, but very reasonably priced with the added use of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear ClaireHirst2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham and for taking the time to write your comments

I have checked the mirror in the room and there is a small crack in the far corner. I have organised for this to be replaced. I have also looked into the issue with the lamp and the light that was flashing and have changed the light bulbs. They are now working. I apologise for the inconvenience

Despite these issues I do hope you would choose to return in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you go on lots of bisiness trips, after a while your hotel needs whittle down to very few essentials. A clean, comfortable room. A good shower. Decent bit of space. Access to a bar/cafe. Proximity to major routes. I guess Duncan Bannatyne has also figured this out - and this is exactly what he provides in this hotel. Reasonably priced and free access to the health club next door as well. A great choice if you're in the Durham area. This will be my business hotel of choice in Durham henceforth!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear UKRO,

Thank you for staying with us recenlty and for posting the positive comments about your stay. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to the area.

I will pass this feedback to the various employees who will be happy to recieve it.

Kind regards

Colin MacGillivray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannatyne Hotel Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.