We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor accommodation in beautiful setting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Durham Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Durham Castle to your Saves list
Durham Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   University College | University of Durham, Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor accommodation in beautiful setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two nights on a piece of foam on top of a board in a small room up over 100 steps, followed by a trickle of a shower and a shambolic, lukewarm, inadequate breakfast does not make for a very happy experience. Not that the management care as they have failed to respond in any way to my feedback! The setting is amazing but that was the only good point. £122 for two nights in a single en-suite room plus a considerable amount of parking fees in a public car park as the college parking was out of use. No free tours because of functions taking place. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    33
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
43
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This experience will make you feel like you're the queen of England! GO GO GO..... It's one of the best castle's in England! 2 nights in Durham Castle was such an amazing experience, the spectacular views and the outstanding service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you've ever dreamed of staying in a castle, you will NOT be disappointed. All the charm and spirit of true castle, but with modern comforts (and much more spacious than I expected!). Plus, you can't beat any of the views.

The breakfast was amazing, as was the great hall we ate in!

If I could change one thing, it would be that I had stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We (wife & self) had a late Xmas prezzie (in July) from eldest daughter & Hubby, a week-end in Durham Castle. Nothing would have been more appreciated. A lovely city, and to sleep & breakfast in such superb surroundings. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The room was immaculately clean & very spacious (we were "up in the gods") hence we had wooden timber supports in out room, however I think this added to the charm. The shower was very good. As the breakfast was self sevice if you didn't enjoy it (we both did) it was probably your own fault. (Makes me wish I was clever and young, I'd gladly be a student at Durham University, the students use the rooms during term time). The only small thing I missed was there was no TV I like to catch up on the news/weather.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a night in Durham Castle when we went to see the Lindisfarne Gospels and are very pleased we did. From the start the young man on reception was very friendly and helpful, he offered to carry our luggage when he took us to our room in the keep. The room was very clean with plenty of fluffy white towels and good quality toiletries, also there are tea/coffee facilities, all fairtrade including some delicious sultana and cherry cookies and a choice of teas and decaf coffee, the shower room was small but adequate.
In the evening the bar is open and it is very reasonably priced, definitely student rates for everyone. The breakfast buffet is served in the splendid Great Hall and there was a very good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt and of course the full cooked English as well, eat as much as you like, and proper filter coffee. We thought it was excellent value, £92 for a double en-suite with breakfast and a free tour of the Castle, (normally £5 each) We will definitely stay in the castle again.
The only downside is the Cathedral bells ringing through the night, every 1/4 hour but you are warned of this beforehand so know what to expect, I'm a light sleeper so it may not disturb everyone The place definitely deserves 10 out of 10 for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steel City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A beautiful setting for a wedding. A lovely venue full of history. Staff very polite and helpful. Stayed in a keep room, these are obviously restricted in size as it is an historical building! Clean and tidy; en-suite shower room OK - shower lacked pressure. Beautiful view out of windows into courtyard of castle. Breakfast nice - served in The Great Hall - very Hogwarts! I think this is a gem and good value for money considering its location. Would definitely stay here again if visiting north east. Many steep stairs to climb to get to your room - but adds to the fun of being in the castle - staff more than willing to help with bags. Parking restricted and a relative walk to castle, but worth it and would not put me off another visit.

Room Tip: If you have any kind of mobility issue ensure you book a lower ground room, stairs to rooms are stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My fiancé and I have just arrived home from a wonderful weekend break at Durham castle. The situation of the castle is absolutely breathtaking and the views from our window were staggering. The reception staff were all eager to help and very friendly and the breakfast offerings were brilliant (including a vegetarian option for myself) We stayed in a double en suite room at the very top of the castle keep and whilst there were a LOT of stairs to get there the view more than compensated for it. I would highly recommend the castle hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Durham and will definitely be making the trip back myself in the near future.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you make sure you request a room on the lower levels of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Castle

Address: University College | University of Durham, Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Durham Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Castle Hotel Durham
Castle Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durham Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.