We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Honest Lawyer Hotel to your Saves list
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have just had lunch at the Honest Lawyer, Durham just off the A167 at Sunderland Bridge.
The food, service and facilities were excellant. We had a three course lunch with a glass of wine and it was excellent value for money.
The decor and facilities were of the highest quality.
I will try and vist this establishment again soon. Dining room although it can only hold approximately 60 was very good.

Room Tip: We did not stay only used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear papaquinn,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    222
    83
    32
    13
See reviews for
111
282
25
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used a special offer run by the hotel to have a weekend in Durham. The offer was two nights accommodation with breakfast and a meal in the restaurant on the first night for £150. The hotel is easily found on a main road about 3 miles from the centre of Durham. The hotel is ideally located for visiting attractions such as Beamish (about 10 miles away) and Durham itself. You can drive into Durham or there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.
Most of the rooms are motel style in a courtyard to the rear of the main building. There is ample parking. Our room (25) was well away from the main road and overlooked open fields so there was no traffic noise. The room was clean and in a good state of decoration and the bathroom was fine. The room was cold when we checked in as the heating was not on but it soon warmed up. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel but the quality of the connection is variable. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a large (maybe 40") flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable and we slept well both nights.
On the first night we enjoyed an excellent four course meal in Bailey's Restaurant. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. The cost of the meal, which was included in the offer, was about £60 and we only had to pay extra for our drinks so the special offer was excellent value.
On the second night we had a bar meal before going out and breakfast was very good on both mornings.
All the staff we encountered, who are mostly quite young, were friendly, helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work.
We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the Honest Lawyer to anyone visiting the Durham area.

Room Tip: The main road is quite busy so ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Clemenceau,
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our 2 night deal at £149 to be excellent value for money. I'm pleased that you found everything in the room to be in order. With regards to the wifi we are investing a considerable amount in replacing our systems in the next few months so i'm sure you will see an improvement in the future. I'm delighted that you found our food to be excellent, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent a great weekend at the Honest Lawyer Hotel. We had a very relaxing time. We particularly liked the food, freshly made beautifully cooked meals. The staff are great, service in the restaurant, bar and reception was never anything less than fast, efficient and friendly. It was a very good location for Beamish museum and visiting Durham. We used the 2 night, 1 dinner bed and breakfast deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear greentomato,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. As i'm sure you will be aware guests who stay with us receive 25% off at Beamish Museum, and as you booked on our current two night deal i'm sure you'll appreciate that it represents excellent value for money at £149. I hope that we will see you at the hotel again in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat Thani, Thailand
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Given the considerable difference between the accommodation and the restaurant, I have decided to split the reviews. We spent one night there during the bitterly cold weather in March. The room was booked well in advance and whilst we appreciate that hotels have to keep running costs down as much as possible, surely it's not too much to expect that someone would have the initiative to ensure that the heating was set to an acceptable level in advance of a customer arriving. The room was freezing with the radiator thermostat on the lowest setting and the heated towel rail in the bathroom( the one source of heating) switched off. By the time we came to check out the following morning, the room had warmed up.

We felt that the accommodation is in need of some refurbishing. Attempts to use the telephone failed and there was no directions or numbers available in the room. The carpet did not appeared to have been vacuumed and there was evidence of previous occupation in the bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear suratrichard,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, we welcome all guest feedback. Firstly thank you for your glowing review on the restaurant page, i'm pleased that dinner was to your liking. I must apologise that you found the room cold upon arrival, as we are unaware of the time that each guest is checking in we do keep the thermostats low, but the radiator should heat up quite quickly. For guests who do feel a bit colder especially on the cold nights, March has been a very cold month here in Durham, we have an ample supply of heaters which are available on request. As Tripadvisor is an anonymous site we unfortunately have been unable to track down your booking, but please contact us directly with the room number that you stayed in so that we can address the complaints for your stay directly. I hope that this experience does not put you off staying with us in the future, if I can be of any further assistance please contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

had a lovely family meal food excellent well presented and very good service staff were great also child friendly. Plenty of choice of starters and main course the Fish and Chips tasty Lamb dish cooked to perfection , and puddings to die for will be back .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear ena h, thank you for your wonderful review, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent Easter weekend at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, taking advantage of their weekend special offer, which is extremely good value for money! We paid a little extra to upgrade to the suite, the room is very spacious and tastefully decorated with a very large, comfortable bed. The bathroom is clean but a little tired. The food served in the restaurant is excellent and the service is very good. All staff were friendly and very helpful. An overall excellent stay, we will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Loops174, thank you for your review of the hotel, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking. We'll certainly take a look at the Suite's bathroom to see if we can give it a bit of a refresh, but i'm pleased that you found it to be clean, we do pride ourselves on our housekeeping standards. Our weekend offer is proving to be very popular, so we hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited here today (Good Friday) for our Fish & Chips and have to say they were as god as ever the food here never let's you down, used to be a regular but haven't been for a while and glad to say it hasn't lost its touch. We noted that they now do different menus between the bar and the restaurant with a good choice and not too expensive, although the burger at 10.95 is a little on the expensive side. Like the Staropronen lager. All that's missing at the moment is the singer Chris Daker that used to be on on a Friday night and create a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear rowtietowers,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, i'm glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. We've just updated our menus at the beginning of April to offer even more choice at different price points. Our a la carte menu is now served in the bar & restaurant, along with a selection of House Favourites. Thank you for your feedback on the burger, we've keep the price the same since we opened 2 1/2 years ago, but now on a Tuesday night you can get our Classic Steak Burger and a Pint of Carlsberg or Tetley, /125ml Glass of Wine/ or Regular Pepsi for just £11.95, which i'm sure you will agree represents excellent value for money.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Honest Lawyer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.