We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bowburn Hall to your Saves list
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Durham
durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were in a hurry so decided to visit for Sunday lunch.
Service was very quick and helpful.
The meal was certainly not one to remember. The beef was tough and without flavour.
The Yorkshire puddings were stodgy. On the plus side the vegetables were ok.
No one asked if the meal was satisfactory or otherwise. Perhaps that was just as well, certainly from their point of view.
Not a meal I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
45
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Bowburn Hall Hotel was booked for the wedding of our son and his wife, mainly because of the size lent itself to only one function at any time and the use of the Hotel and it's rooms for the exclusive use of the wedding party and guests who were travelling from all over the world to be there. The location was ideal as it fell approx half-way between the 2 family homes and had the facility to have the wedding in the grounds (if the weather would permit). Guests travelling from a distance booked in for the friday and saturday and the bulk of the bridal party and family for the Saturday. This was changed at short notice when the friday night bookings were cancelled by the hotel, due to another late booking for a wedding on the friday. Then there was a charge for the use of the conservatory (where the evening buffet was laid out) and where the guests had to go whilst the staff made the change from ceremony to reception hall, then again for the evening reception. We were then informed that the Lounge/Bar was to be open to the public for meals, this lay between the Reception room and the Conservatory. There was to be a second bar open in the ballroom, which was closed within an hour of the evening reception (due to faulty pumps?). Then with a lounge full of Diners (some of whom were quite rude) we had the situation of them wandering into the wedding disco and buffet. The staff at the bar seemed far more interested in serving the general public than the wedding guests (until a strong complaint was made). If you book this venue, be sure to have all your T's crossed before you go ahead. This venue is now run by "Slaley Hall" and it seems that profit comes much higher than product to this company. If it were not for good families and friends this could have turned into a bit of a fiasco, but we rose above the incompetence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We go to this hotel for food & it is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The food is always good & the staff friendly but it is always the same menu, it doesn't change at all, especially the vegetarian option, always goats cheese tart, it would be so much better if there was more variety.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Friday 11th October to attend a 50th Wedding Anniversary party. Really nice room although a bit small. Mirrors sockets all in excellent positions. Hairdrier and tea and coffee making tray provided. Very comfortable room. Excellent Carvery meal was provided in the evening. One of the best we have had. Excellent continental breakfast. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. All in all a very nice hotel and we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you are disabled as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for a weekend break,the service and cleanliness were of a high standard.Great breakfast and lovely conservatory to chill out in.Only downside was there was a band night on till midnight,although hotel offered to get room on second floor we said no so was noisy in room.Overall great hotel just check what events are on if coming for a romantic break.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my wife had our wedding at bowburn hall everything about the place was superb , amazing staff fantastic food and great location . I would defiantly recommend you to have a wedding , party ect there. We now go regularly to bowburn hall for a meal during the week mon to fri £25 2course meal and bottle of wine for 2 or 3course £30 , or on a sat/sun for a meal of the menu with has a great selection to choose from . It's a must try

Room Tip: If you staying at bowburn hall it's only 2minutes from the motorway great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a friendly, welcoming hotel which we found excellent value for money. The staff are hard working, pleasant and helpful. Whilst our room (10) was on the small side (and the sash window needs to be fixed so that it stays open) it was very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a "homely" atmosphere and although a little tired this did not detract from our enjoyment.
We stayed for two nights at £55 per night including continental breakfast- excellent value. We ate in the hotel restaurant; the menu is extensive with special deals including 3 courses with a bottle of wine for a couple for £30. The food was excellent both in terms of quality and quantity.
It is a 3 star hotel which is about right, it is not a 5 star hotel. Its strengths are the friendliness of its staff, cleanliness and value for money. We have stayed in other hotels in the Durham area but will go back to the Bowburn. Special mention for the Polish lady (Magda?) who looked after us at breakfast and was so cheerful and friendly - an asset to the business. So, don't be put off that its not 4 or 5 stars or that it is not super modern, this hotel felt right, we enjoyed our stay very much and it made a nice change from the usual "chain" hotels.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a little on the small side and we were disturbed by staff setting up the adjoining confer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowburn Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.