We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bowburn Hall to your Saves list
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just 4 miles from Durham a hotel in a spot near the A1, most people wouldn't think of using this other than for weddings or business, but if you are a parent bringing a student to Uni or like us wanted a stop over on the way North, give this place a try.
£45 for b&b in a nice room with good service. Don't expect the Ritz, and the double rooms are average size, but well appointed and clean.
All in all for the money well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a twin to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
45
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We only stayed one night en-route to Scotland. The room was large and clean, with a big bathroom and the food in the restaurant was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. The settting was lovely, and although it's in the middle of a built-up area felt like it was actually in the middle of the countryside as the grounds around it are quite large. We were more than satisfied and would certainly go back if in the Durham area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had our wedding here in June 2012 and the hotel was excellent. All of the staff were very professional and the quality of food for the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was outstanding. The service during our meal was very efficient without us feeling rushed.

The layout of the hotel is great and having the conservatory for a drinks reception is really useful. We booked out all the rooms for our guests and the venue felt very intimate and like our own little place.

Craig (manager) and Craig (assistant manager) were very organised in the lead up to the day, ensured that everything went to plan and couldn’t do enough to help. They were also more than willing to accommodate small changes to our timetable to enable photographs to be taken outside during a break from the showers.

This is an exceptional venue in the north east for a wedding and definitely a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding. Staff were so efficient, great attention to detail and nothing was too much trouble. The girl with the purple hair deserves a special mention for her hard work and friendliness. Hotel rooms were clean and well serviced and the food was generous, hearty and well-cooked, specialising in local produce. Good value for a meal or weekend with great offers and deals available. The wedding was very, very well done. Thank you Bowburn for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid room 26 - smaller than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I was due to stay here next month but staff phoned me to say this was no longer possible. I booked this a few months ago.

Now I can't get into nearby hotels as they are booked up, or prices are higher for the shorter notice.

Grrrr!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our only regret here is that we didn't get to try the restaurant as we were meeting up with friends nearby. The menu had lots of fish and meat dishes that suggested it would not be standard pub food, and great emphasis was placed on the local origins of the ingredients, including local cheeses. For £67, the room - although smaller - was much better equipped than the £100 room of the previous night's hotel and spotlessly clean. Mention of it being surrounded by a housing estate is immaterial; the area is quiet and you might even get a view across to Durham in the distance. The staff clearly knew their jobs and seemed genuinely interested in being of service to the guests. The brightness of the breakfast room makes it a pleasant experience and the food just right in a traditional way. We will certainly stay again when visiting the area. The single jarring note is that the hefty humps on the access road mean we cannot bring our soft top without risking losing the exhaust.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We needed a pleasant, restful location for one night, while working in Durham for 2 days. The price was so good we feared a catch!
From the moment we parked in the spacious car park to the moment we left Everything was good. Well-trained staff, attractive room, well-equipped bathroom, windows that opened, views and sounds of a garden with birds, satisfactory food, excellent continental breakfast - I can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowburn Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.