We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to worse, been to better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingslodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kingslodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kingslodge Hotel
Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Durham B&B and Inns
Chesham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Been to worse, been to better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is in a fairly good location and is very handy for the station, but then most places are walkable in Durham. We had the family room and a twin, both were clean, 'though in need of updating, especially the family room for which the decor was dire. The beds were really uncomfortable, as were the pillows. Why do hotel rooms have to have such low wattage bulbs? There was nowhere light enough to do one's make-up and the bathroom mirror was placed so high you would have to have been 6ft to see in it and the light over it didn't actually work. The shower was adequate, but you couldn't have a shower whilst your partner was cleaning their teeth as the temperature changed as the cold water was removed - really, we are in the 21st century now. The twin room had a very small gap between the end of the beds and the dressing table, which would have been too tight for a large person to squeeze past.
We had a lacklustre welcome, as though the girl was just waiting for us before knocking-off shift - it was only 6.30p.m. when we arrived - so hardly late night and we had travelled up from the south. I found later a text had been sent to me at 5.30, asking e.t.a. as the reception closed, though at what time they didn't say. Again, really, hotels can't expect not to have guests arriving late in the evening. The checking-out receptionist was much more friendly and the chambermaids very smiley and friendly.
Breakfast was served in Finbarr's restaurant, which is confusing, because they are apparently under separate management from the hotel. It was fine and mostly offered the usual continental and full-English, but I feel they could have had a more comprehensive menu and can a pot of tea please have more than one teabag in - one per person and one for the pot! My husband asked for decaff coffee and we decided that the reason it was decaff was because the coffee was missing, it was so weak compared with my daughter's caffeinated coffee.
We have stayed in a few places since our daughter has been at Durham Uni and this was better than the characterless Radisson and the rip-off Marriott, but not a patch on Cathedral View Town House or The Victorian Town house B & Bs ( which were fully booked hence our booking the Kingslodge Hotel).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Our hotel heating/water system allows everyone access at the same time, otherwise the first person to turn on the hot water would be the only one to have it. I am at a loss to see how leasing the restaurant to oneof the finest restaurateurs in Durham is confusing. Do you really need to know the name of the people actually serving your breakfast? Finally, we are an old country house hotel with furniture to match. If you prefer modern, minimalistic furniture then I suggest you try the Premier Inn. It is all a matter of choice. We have a lot of guests who return time after time; because we are the kind of hotel they prefer to stay in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
68
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our two-night stay at Kingslodge last week was very pleasant indeed. The hotel is comfortable and well-run. It's a somewhat older place, so the furnishings and windows are not what you would call state of the art, but perfectly serviceable and comfortable. The location can't be beat -- quiet, close to the center, yet with free parking. And Finbarr's restaurant was absolutely wonderful (don't forget to make reservations). All in all, a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Our room (no. 6) was right over the outdoor bar area, and we are light sleepers, but there was no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of July. Overall the hotel met our needs and seemed good value (incl. breakfast and parking) for location close to the city centre. We were not disturbed by the building site or the railway nearby as we were using the hotel as a base for exploring the area. The building work was noisy at times. Breakfast was good but we did not have evening meals as these seemed expensive for our budget. There are numerous places to eat 10 minutes or so away. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the young lady on reception. Our room was small but we did not need to spend much time in it as there is so much to see and do in the county.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the building site nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Myself and four friends stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July - it worked out at £116 each for the stay by sharing 2 rooms. We were really happy with the location - only a 10 minute walk from the centre and free parking means that you can leave the car in the hotel car park. It doesn't feel like you are close to a city centre.
The rooms were clean tidy and comfortable. The electric fan was welcome as the weather was very warm. The double bed had a comfy memory foam mattress, but the single bed had a hard mattress. The service staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ample, choice of cereal, juice, fruit, yoghurts and croissants plus a cooked breakfast and toast. The hotel bar was reasonably priced and comfortable with large leather sofa's. There is a small seated garden area.
The building work next door to the hotel didn't cause too much inconvenience - a bit noisy during the working day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, hotel staff were very welcoming and decent sized room which was nice and clean. Location was excellent as it was only a 10 minute walk into centre. Think it was a touch on the expensive side but overall no problems and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingslodgereviews, General Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. You will find that the hotel rates are very competitive in the Durham area. Included in our price is full English breakfast and parking. Not all hotels include these in their price. However, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your review and hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night and the hotel is central. We stayed in room 20 which is above the entrance. The room was nice although it was on the small side. Tea/coffee making facilities were squished in a corner, making it difficult to get to. A small fan on the dresser was a god send as the room was quite hot. We had a full English breakfast which was nice but small portion. Cereals and fruit juices were also available.

I thought the price at £85 a night was a little steep.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingslodgereviews, General Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
If you think that an hotel room is a little overpriced, I would suggest that you ring the hotel direct. You can sometimes pick up offers that are not always displayed on booking agency websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in the Kingslodge Hotel Durham for three nights, nice Hotel in a secluded part of Durham walking distance to the Railway Station, staff are very attentive and welcoming, nice gardens with lots of seating around, very clean rooms with everything you need, hairdryer ironing board and iron, teas and coffee with chocolates and biscuits. Sadly there is a lot of building work going on in the adjacent plot which are causing lots noise and dust, the staff are working extra hard to keep this at bay. 'Finbarr's' restaurant which is part of the hotel is first class, food is just amazing as is the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We have been assured that the worst of the building noise is now over and all heavy machinery has ben removed from site. WE do hope to see your again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingslodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslodge Hotel

Address: Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Kingslodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingslodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.