We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff, service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Kings Head Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Head Hotel
Station Road, Lanchester village | on the A167 between Durham to Consett, Durham DH7 0EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Durham B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We attended the kings head yesterday for food. The service was exceptional both warm and friendly and the food was really really delicious!! I read the reviews before we went, although negative we decided to try anyway. How glad we are we Did!! We will definitely be returning here!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pre-booked atbel for 6 last week, for family meal, incl one in wheelchair. Ages 14-84.
While clearly expecting large bookings, so near to xmas -long tables for huge bookings, our table was easily accessed.
Orders taken promptly, drinks arrived quickly, and starters soon after, all fine. I had soup and thought it could be better, but was hot, plenty of veg and nice roll. Everyone else very happy with their starters, esp the Skins.
Mains arrived promptly, very good service, so can only assume since last review in Aug the staff must have changed or been retrained.
Mains were fab, my steak great, xmas dinners for others very nice. No flaws at all.
Again great service, staff checking everything ok and offering extra drinks etc.

Desserts fine, though not special.

All prices are clear and fair. Many offers in menu, really far too many, huge menu - only assume and hope food is fresh and not reheaded/micro.
This can be a worry when menu seems too extensive.

A lovely hotel/restaurant, picture of burger here does NOT do it justice. An external oic would give much better impression.

The larger parties started to arrive and did seem a bit hectic, as tables had to be moved to get unexpected people in. No idea if service for them was as fast as ours as the restaurant wa now full.
Decorations and decor very good, very xmas.

Car park huge. Ramp access and wide doors if required, though do book a table near bar if you need wide access.

Will recomment and return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Ate here a couple of years ago, nice food so visited again recently when we were in the area. Booked a table for 8pm but wouldn't let us sit down until 8.20pm. Starters arrived at 9.05pm, some were only luke warm but we didn't want to wait longer so didn't say anything. Mains arrived at 9.45pm which was frankly too late to be eating for enjoyment. Don,t really know why service was so poor, several waitresses not exactly rushed off their feet by the time we ordered so maybe the problem was in the kitchen. A real shame as this pub has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been there for food and the service has always been appalling, I could never work out if the staff were stupid or ignorant, the amount of times they just ignore you! The food was lovely, but recently has gone down hill and ended up undercooked and tasteless, with the portion size going down as well. I don't bother going there anymore!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The staff and service were great and as helpful as you'd expect on a busy lunchtime with a Newcastle match on, potato skins lush to start, but thoroughly disappointing burger. Lush onion rings, coleslaw and chips, but ruined by the cheap 'burger van' burger... might be back, but there's plenty of other places to eat around and about, so I doubt it...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I'm a resident of Lanchester and I've now gotten to the point where I travel away from the village for pub food as I've had so many experiences of dreadful service in the Kings Head. The hotel is in an idyllic spot and has all the facilities that are needed to make it a really successful venue..........................except effective customer service.

Of my past 5 visits to the restaurant the record reads

a. left 3 times after waiting for mare than half an hour for someone to take our order.
b. Waited twice because we were with visitors who had traveled a long way to see us.

On the two occasions when we waited with our visitors we had one occasion when the service was reasonable. on the other occasion, it took 20 minutes for someone to take our order \(that only happened because one of my visitors got up and sought out a waitress to complain) and 1 hr 20 minutes for our main courses to turn up. I found it acutely embarrassing to put my visitors through that sort of experience and for that reason I've stopped eating there.

The food itself is usually OK but not any better. The real problem is that the restaurant is run on minimum wage staffing and there is no management available. As a result the locals are well aware that the service is dreadful and don't use it for occasions. It's a great shame as it could be such a real asset for the village.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Been here a few times for drinks and food - staff are friendly and helpful. The food from the menu is usually very good with generous portions, but when we went to a mexican night the food was average as it was buffet style and some of it was cold. I will still be coming here again but will stick to the normal menu,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: Station Road, Lanchester village | on the A167 between Durham to Consett, Durham DH7 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.