We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Round Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All Round Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went for a wedding, and decided half way through the dinner to book a room

For the wedding reception the food was excellent, and the setting was really nice.

Even though they only had a Twin room's left the bedroom was massive, and very clean.
All the staff where excellent and proved any help that was needed, and the breakfast was spot on in the morning

The only downside was the mattress its self, was a lot firmer then we like, but other members of our family in other rooms mentioned that there mattresses where spot on, and really soft, so we might have just been a bit unlucky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    248
    59
    39
    31
See reviews for
133
321
20
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is mainly for those who wish to book the Ramside for a wedding

We married here at the Ramside in the fountain room and reception in the marquee.
The day was beautiful as was the food, we opted for a hot buffet with around 8 min courses to pick from!

The gardens are fantastic and so many lovely places to have pictures taken!

We chose the Ramside due to the perception the could provide a smooth operation often having several weddings on one day.

Please ensure every last detail no matter what it may be however small is written in the paperwork and not just spoken about otherwise your guests can freely enter your reception room before they should do so.

They arrange for someone to over see your day however at some points they were no where to be found…Mingling with guests leaving the bride and groom wondering what is happening!

Also the wine they served cost £3.29 a bottle in my corner shop! We paid £16 for a package of 4 drinks! Make sure you negotiate the wine they will be serving!

We stayed in the McIntyre suite and it was beautiful very spacious! The double bath and luxury shower made the stay in our room so special!

Room Tip: The suites are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your wedding event held at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your special day and we are thrilled to read how pleased you were with all aspects of your stay. Please be assured that I shall ensure your compliments are shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 21st march on a business trip. From the outset the staff could not be more friendly or helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is spacious and comfortable with several lovely lounge areas, spoilt for choice which was nicest !
We ate in the grill, and were very impressed with the standard of food. Again the staff were great, attentive friendly and welcoming.
The room was lovely, very big comfy bed, nice view over the golf course, and the bath and shower were immense.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, hope to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here on March 18th 2013. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms was classed as superior and had all that was expected for its specification. Everything clean and bathroom especially noted. The Rib Room menu looked excellent, but in my opinion was well overpriced for the area. Cheapest main was a beefburger at £11:50. If I was in Central London at noted chef establishment (or second chef rated) then perhaps yes. We used the evening carvery which is semi-self service, value for money and choice was good. Food hot and staff service helpful. Did not have breakfast as Durham was close and better value all day breakfasts are to be had there. Hotel breakfast was £12:50 each. Summarising the Ramside Hall is a good all round golfing hotel which I would have given a higher rating if it had not been topped off with high prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the moment we checked in the service was friendly and first class.The bedroom was very well attired. With spacious sitting areas, two bar areas,two restaurants, great carvery and breakfasts in one and an outstanding Grill Room our overall experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 313 - a four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very mch for your 5 star review of the hotel! I hope its not too long before we see you back at the hotel
Best Regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for one night on business, excellent facilities and location and with an excellent welcome when we arrived and excellent service provided throughout the stay
Facilities are good in the hotel and wish I had more time on my stay to enjoy the hotel more.
Excellent breakfast, although quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evieb55
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a wonderful place to get married. It has several different rooms for marrying but we had the ballroom which we think is the best one. Many of the guests stayed overnight and we did too. The rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. A good quiet location although it is also a golf course. During the wedding meal the staff were outstanding and the food is also outstanding. We did not wait for anything, our every desire was met. It ran like clockwork which says a lot about their management team. The general public lunch and have Sunday dinners there regularly. The food is always good. Our breakfasts were from juice, cereals, fried breakfast, scrambled, poached or whatever eggs to whatever you required in general, again with very nice organised staff. They also have a separate lodge (it's like a little mansion really) with five bedrooms. My daughter and her bridesmaids slept here the night before the wedding. This is a beautiful house with all the amenities you could wish for. Televisions in all rooms, huge lounge, kitchen with large table and veranda. We are going back in June for two nights because it looked so homely. It is £400 per night however, so it has to be for a special occasion, but worth it really if there are eight sharing. Well that is my recommendation and the gardens are lovely too.

Room Tip: I think the rooms upstairs are larger but the rooms downstairs along the hall are all nice with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your wedding event held at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your special day and we are thrilled to read how pleased you were with all aspects of your stay. Please be assured that I shall ensure your compliments are shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club Overview: An impressive hotel set in a 220 acre estate just 400 meters from junction 62 of the A1M motorway, and reputed to be one of the most popular quality 4 star hotel in Durham city. All bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished either with two double beds or King size beds and include flat screen multi channel television, Sky channels, fresh fruit, electronic safes, free WiFi and much more. All rooms at the hotel are non-smoking. With two restaurants to choose from - The Rib Room Steakhouse & Grill and Pembertons Rotisserie & Carvery - you are spoilt for choice. The championship 27-hole golf course is complemented by a superb golf clubhouse, driving range and Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.