We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Door

The Cellar Door
41 Saddler Street, Durham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 257 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I called in here for lunch today. As it was a nice day we decided to sit outside, I popped inside to ask whether we just take a seat or wait to be seated and was told to just take a seat and there'd be someone over to take our order. We sat down and had a look through the menu, they had a few items on a lunch menu and we both opted for the burgers with chorizo so waited for the waitress to appear to take our order. This took about 15 minutes and I admit I was getting close to leaving as I could already here a few grumbles from other tables about the service being slow at that point but we placed our order and waited for our drinks. After another 10 minutes or so our drinks came, then we had to wait another 20 minutes for food. The burgers looked very impressive, huge solid burgers but just served with fries, similar to MacDonalds ones which was a little disappointing considering how much the meal cost. Whilst the burger was very filling, it actually didn't have a great deal of flavour so I had to put more salt on to bring the flavour out.

After seeing someone wait over 10 minutes for their bill ( and still waiting ) I decided to pop inside to pay as I thought it would be quicker. The gentleman asked how everything was so I said the meal itself was nice but the service a little slow, I thought why lie when thats how I felt, but he seemed a little annoyed or put out at the criticism.

Overall a very nice setting, especially on a nice day, and the waitresses were friendly but the service was slow and food just ok so for the price not somewhere I'd rush back to, especially as it took over an hour to just get a burger and chips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    110
    48
    50
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aughton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful, please, don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There were dead flies on the table cloth, the waitress rolled her eyes when my daughter mentioned it.....this is the point we should have left! The table was situated in a cramped draughty place, (6pm in the evening one other table occupied), when we asked to be moved it was made obvious that this was a major inconvenience to the staff. The food was bland and unappetising. If you like a slab of steak and don't mind flies on the table and poor service this is the place for you BUT if you prefer flavoursome food in clean pleasant surroundings look for somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bar person very professional and knowledgeable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we enjoyed our meal and drinks both on the terrace and inside the restaurant.tomato soup was spicy and tasty.steak was good,however mushrooms very greasy.overall good value for money-service received was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place for a party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I recently celebrated a wedding anniversary at The Cellar Door. We had approx 130 people there and we had an amazing night. We had the sole and full use of the terraces as well as the downstairs area close to the kitchen. The planning was statrted about a year before and every couple of months we would be contacted for a progress update. The staff were always polite and friendly if at time a little harrassed by my guests demands.
Chris the chef did a top job on the food and everyone was and still are talking about how good the food was.
There was a bit of an issue with the music but this was eventually sorted out.
I would whole heartedly recommend the Cellar door to anyone either for intimate dining or a full blown party. It is a great location, just perfect. A massive thankyou to all those that helped out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little gem is the cellar door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went with a group of friends and had a really good night.The staff were attentive and very good service was just the right pace not too pushy and not too slow.the food was very good and nobody in our party had any complaints about the quality of food or the service.Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine and draught lagers.I would return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Door also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to The Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.