We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, wonderful menu, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finbarr's Restaurant

Finbarr's Restaurant
Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
0191 370 9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 253 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, wonderful menu, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Finbarr's is easy walking distance from the city centre (Framwellgate side) and not far from the station. Tucked away, you'd perhaps mistake it for a pub-hotel, but the beautifully appointed restaurant is immediately appealing. The menu, both a la carte and fixed price (the latter was fantastic value) is not over-bearing with choices, but making a choice is difficult. I really wanted to sample the three dishes we had for lunch. We had a quiet Saturday long lunch, and so the service was duly attentive but discreet. The food was perfectly cooked and presented, with ample portions--quite delicious. I don't doubt that we'll be back regularly whenever in Durham. Full marks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    115
    43
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Went with my wife and daughter. Very enjoyable evening. The haggis scotch eggs were wonderful, as was my steak.

I would say the service was only average - I know it's a hard balance to be attentive while discrete, however I did feel ignored at times. Not sure if it's normal at this restaurant, but not once were wine or water glasses topped up.

Decor and atmosphere very pleasant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Quality food,in a vibrant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our first visit to Finbarrs at The Kings Lodge Hotel turned out to be a huge sucsess. Quality cuisine combined with a vbrant atmosphere,and friendly,competant waiting staff made for a tremendous,and highly entertaining evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family get-together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Table for seven organised at short notice - treat organised by myself on behalf of my mother and law and my wife's Aunt viisiting from Ireland.
Age of guests ranging from two in their eighties to our kids aged 13 and 12.
The food was excellent - slight hic-up when a dish was requested to be slightly amended and the request was overlooked meaning that one of the guests had to wait an extra couple of minutes for the main course, but this would be the only minor criticism of an otherwise delightful night.

The food was first class, service was friendly and professional apart from the above slip - food was pricey, but good value for this quality of food freshly cooked to order.

My son tried squid for the first time and loved it!

Thanks for an excellent evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The restaurant is well set out, with white cloths on the tables and it has a good atmosphere - they do a good special menu at a reasonable price during the week and so it always seems busy. The food is good, as is the service and the a la carte menu is good fine dining.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finbarr's Restaurant also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Finbarr's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finbarr's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.